• Home
  • Australia
  • Melbourne Cup Carnival
  • Melbourne Cup

2022 Melbourne Cup Final Field and Draw - Deauville Legend lands plum draw in nine

29 Oct 2022
Jon Vine 29 Oct 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • We bring you the final confirmed field for the 2022 Melbourne Cup
  • This huge handicap takes place at Flemington on Tuesday 1st November
  • Favourite Deauville Legend was drawn kindly in stall one
  • Take a look through the full draw and jockey bookings here
melbourne cup draw
General view of The Melbourne Cup barrier draw after 2022 Penfolds Victoria Derby Day at Flemington Racecourse. (Getty)

The field was confirmed and the draw was made for the 2022 Melbourne Cup today.

"The race that stops a nation" will take place at Flemington racecourse on Tuesday and the final field of 24 runners has now been confirmed. Here's the final field, jockey booking, latest odds and the draw for the 2022 Melbourne Cup.

2022 Melbourne Cup Odds

Deauville Legend11/4
Without A Fight10/1
Gold Trip10/1
Realm Of Flowers12/1
Lunar Flare14/1

Take a look through the full betting for the 2022 Melbourne Cup here on our website.

2022 Melbourne Cup Runners

Deauville Legend2022 Melbourne Cup FavouriteGET 11/4 HERE
18+ only. Gambling can be addictive. Play responsibly.

Deauville Legend cemented his position at the head of the Melbourne Cup betting when the draw was made on Saturday. James Ferguson was delighted when his raider was placed in stall nine, with many seeing a central draw as the ideal position in the Melbourne Cup.

In contrast, Simon and Ed Crisford's raider, Without A Fight was drawn poorly out in stall 18. Without A Fight will be ridden by British Champion Jockey William Buick. Deauville Legend will be partnered by Kerrin McEvoy, who won the Melbourne Cup in 2016 and '18.

Ciaron Maher & David Eustace account for five of the 24 runners, including top-weight Gold Trip, who will be giving two kilos to his closest rival in the weights. Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott will be represented by Hoo Ya Mal and Knights Order. Robert Hickmott will run both Serpentine and Point Nepean in the colours of owner Lloyd Williams.

Craig Williams will take the ride on Hoo Ya Mal, with Jamie Kah riding Smokin' Romans. Wayne Lordon travels over from Ireland to ride Point Nepean. Blake Shinn will get the leg-up on Vow And Declare, who won the Melbourne Cup under Craig Williams in 2019.

2022 Melbourne Cup Final Field

Weight (kg)
1 Gold Trip 57.5 Mark Zahra Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
2 Duais 55.5 Hugh Bowman Edward Cummings
3 Knights Order 55.5 Tim Clark Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott
4 Montefilia 55.5 Jason Collett David Payne
5 Numerian 55.5 Tommy Berry Annabel Neasham
6 Without A Fight 55.5 William Buick Simon & Ed Crisford
7 Camorra 55 Ben Melham Ben & JD Hayes
8 Deauville Legend 55 Kerrin McEvoy James Ferguson
9 Stockman 54 Sam Clipperton Joseph Pride
10 Vow And Declare 54 Blake Shinn Danny O'Brien
11 Young Werther 54 Damian Lane Danny O'Brien
12 Hoo Ya Mal 53.5 Craig Williams Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott
13 Serpentine 53.5 John Allen Robert Hickmott
14 Daquiansweet Junior 53 Daniel Moor Phillip Stokes
15 Grand Promenade 53 Harry Coffey Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
16 Arapaho 52.5 Rachel King Bjorn Baker
17 Emissary 51.5 Patrick Moloney Michael Moroney
18 Lunar Flare 51.5 Michael Dee Grahame Begg
19 Smokin' Romans 51.5 Jamie Kah Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
20 Tralee Rose 51.5 Dean Yendall Symon Wilde
21 Point Nepean 51 Wayne Lordan Robert Hickmott
22 High Emocean 50 Teo Nugent Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
23 Interpretation 50 Craig Newitt Ciaron Maher & David Eustace
24 Realm Of Flowers 50 Damien Thornton Anthony & Sam Freedman

2022 Melbourne Cup Full Draw

1 Grand Promenade
2 Stockman
3 Emissary
4 Vow And Declare
5 Realm Of Flowers
6 Interpretation
7 Numerian
8 High Emocean
9 Deauville Legend
10 Duais
11 Montefilia
12 Lunar Flare
13 Daquiansweet Junior
14 Gold Trip
15 Hoo Ya Mal
16 Smokin' Romans
17 Camorra
18 Without A Fight
19 Arapaho
20 Point Nepean
21 Young Werther
22 Tralee Rose
23 Serpentine
24 Knights Order

The most successful barrier number in the history of the Melbourne Cup is barrier 5, which will house Anthony and Sam Freedman's Realm Of Flowers on Tuesday. Stalls 8, 10, 11 and 14 have also accounted for plenty of winners.

12 months ago, Verry Elleegant became the first winner to ever spring from stall 18, a feat Without A Fight will attempt to match this year. Stalls 7 and 15 have also proven to be unlucky in the Cup, a stat which won't please followers of Numerian and Hoo Ya Mal, who've landed themselves in these unsuccessful stalls.

2022 Melbourne Cup Tips

Our free guide to the 2022 Melbourne Cup will be published later today.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

02 March 2024

Load More