Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Tips 2022

The first of three handicaps on day three of the Cheltenham Festival is the Pertemps Final. Qualifying races take place across Britain and Ireland throughout the season, before a capacity field of 24 horses takes part in the series finale of this three-mile hurdle series on St Patrick's day at Cheltenham.

2021 Pertemps Final Key Facts

Date Thursday 17th March, 2022
Time 1:55pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade Three Handicap
Distance 3m
Prize Pool £100k
Age 5YO+

2022 Pertemps Final Odds

No odds are currently available for the 2022 Pertemps Final.

2022 Pertemps Final Tips

Our guide to the 2022 Pertemps Final handicap will be published when the entries and weights have been announced.

2021 Pertemps Final Result

1st Mrs Milner 12/1
2nd The Bosses Oscar 10/3f
3rd Come On Teddy 10/1

Pertemps Final Day Card

1:20pm Marsh Novices' Chase Grade One 2m 4f
1:55pm Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Listed Handicap 3m
2:30pm Ryanair Chase Grade One 2m 4f
3:05pm Stayers' Hurdle Grade One 3m
3:40pm Brown Advisory Plate Handicap Chase Grade Three Handicap 2m 4f
4:15pm Mares' Novices' Hurdle Grade Two 2m 1f
4:50pm Kim Muir Handicap Chase Class Two Handicap 3m 2f

Pertemps Final History

The Pertemps Final has proven to be a popular addition to the Cheltenham Festival schedule since it's inception in 1974. 

The Pertemps Series features races run at various venues around Britain and Ireland during the regular season. A top-six finish is enough to book your spot in the Final at the Cheltenham Festival, but only the top 24 rated runners will be allowed to run in the race.

The most famous horse in the history of the Pertemps Final is Willie Wumpkins. Jane Pilkington's charge was 11 when he first won the race at the 1979 Cheltenham Festival. Willie Wumpkins then retained his crown in both 1980 and '81, and remains the only three-time winner of the Pertemps.

Jim Wilson, Willie Wumpkins' jockey, is also the joint winning-most rider in the history of the race. Davy Russell and Barry Geraghty have also ridden three winners apiece.

Forgive 'N Forget won the Pertemps Final in 1983. Two years later, he'd land the big one at the Cheltenham Festival, scoring in the Gold Cup under Mark Dwyer.

John Francombe, Richard Dunwoody and Luke Harvey rode the winners of the Pertemps Final in the 1980s. AP McCoy celebrated his first winner in 1998, riding Unsinkable Boxer to victory for legendary trainer, Martin Pipe.

Jonjo O'Neill is the most successful trainer, having saddled the winner of the Pertemps Final four times between 1991 and 2013. 

Nicky Henderson, Philip Hobbs, Nigel Twiston-Davies and Venetia Williams have also tasted success in the Pertemps Final.

Irish trainer, Pat Kelly scored back-to-back victories with Mall Dini and Presenting Percy in 2016 and '17.

Since then, the race has belonged to Gordon Elliott. Elliott's first winner was Delta Work in 2018. 

Sire Du Berlais won for Elliott the following year, before becoming just the third multiple winner of the Pertemps Final, carrying top-weight to victory over The Storyteller in 2020.

There was another Irish winner in 2021, as Mrs Milner comfortably beat favourite The Bosses Oscar.

Pertemps Final Qualifying Races

2021/22 Winner
October Cheltenham Kansas City Chief
November Aintree Koshari

Kempton Calva D'Auge

Newbury Stoney Mountain
December Sandown Pileon

Wincanton Orby's Legend

Carlisle Flight Deck

Leopardstown Panda Boy
January Warwick Sporting John

Huntingdon Risk And Roll
February Punchestown





Pertemps Final Winners

2021 Mrs Milner
2020 Sire Du Berlais
2019 Sire Du Berlais
2018 Delta Work
2017 Presenting Percy
2016 Mall Dini
2015 Call The Cops
2014 Fingal Bay
2013 Holywell
2012 Cape Tribulation
2011 Buena Vista
2010 Buena Vista
2009 Kayf Aramis
2008 Ballyfitz
2007 Oscar Park
2006 Kadoun
2005 Oulart
2004 Creon
2003 Inching Closer
2002 Freetown

Pertemps Final FAQs

When is the Pertemps Final?

The 2022 Pertemps Final will take place at 1:55pm on day three of the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday 17th March.

What is the Pertemps Final?

The Pertemps Final is a Handicap Hurdle staged during the Cheltenham Festival. The Pertemps Series features races run at various venues around Britain and Ireland during the regular season. A top six finish is enough to book your spot in the Final at the Cheltenham Festival. The Pertemps Final is three miles long, and open to five-year-olds and above.

Who won the Pertemps Final?

Mrs Milner powered up the hill to beat The Bosses Oscar and Come On Teddy in the 2021 Pertemps Final.

Where are the Pertemps Qualifiers run?

The Pertemps Series Qualifiers are run at various venues throughout the season, taking place during Cheltenham's Open Meeting, Leopardstown's Christmas Festival, Kempton's Christmas Festival and the Dublin Racing Festival. The full list of 15 qualifying races can be found on our website.

Where can I watch the Pertemps Final?

The 2022 Pertemps Final will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to stream the race live on your mobile or tablet then visit our Live Streaming page for more details.