5524 Showlhs N

2024 Champion Bumper Tips, Odds and News

The final race on day two of the Cheltenham Festival is the Champion Bumper. This is the only race run during the meeting where no obstacles are jumped, but winners of this Grade One often go on to achieve great success over both hurdles and fences.

Champion Bumper Key Facts

Date Wednesday 13th March, 2024
Time 5:30pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade One
Distance 2m
Prize Pool £75k
Age 4YO - 6YO

Day 2 Cheltenham Festival Free Bets 2024

BookmakerFree BetOffer / Promo CodeClaim Free Bet
€20 No Deposit & €70 Bundle (IRELAND ONLY)Code: BET10GET70€20 No Deposit
£10 Free BetCode: NEWBONUS£10 REFUND
Up to £40 Money Back+ £10 Casino BonusBet £40
Bet £10 Get £20Cheltenham BonusGet £/€20
Get £35 BonusCode: NEWBONUSGet £35

Champion Bumper Odds

No odds are currently available for the Champion Bumper.

Champion Bumper Tips

Our guide to the Champion Bumper will be published in the weeks leading up to the Cheltenham Festival.

Champion Bumper Result

1st A Dream To Share 7/2
2nd Fact To File 16/5f
3rd Captain Teague 40/1

Champion Bumper Tips Day Card

1:30pm Ballymore Novices' Hurdle Grade One 2m 5f
2:10pm RSA Novices' Chase Grade One 3m
2:50pm Coral Cup Handicap Hurdle Grade Three Handicap 2m 5f
3:30pm Queen Mother Champion Chase Grade One 2m
4:10pm Cross Country Chase Class Two Handicap 3m 6f
4:50pm Grand Annual Handicap Chase Grade Three Handicap 2m
5:30pm Champion Bumper Grade One 2m

Champion Bumper History

The Champion Bumper is the only race during the Cheltenham Festival where no obstacles were jumped. The race was created in 1992, aiming to give novice horses who're yet to jump and hurdles or fences some much-needed Festival experience.

In 1996, Willie Mullins both trained and rode the winner of the Champion Bumper, guiding Wither or Which to victory.

The following season saw Richard Dunwoody guide Mullins' star Florida Pearl to victory. Florida Pearl went on to win numerous Grade Ones over fences, including the RSA Novices' Chase at the Cheltenham Festival in 1998.

Flat racing fans will have celebrated in 2002, as top flat jockey Jamie Spencer rode Pizarro to victory for Edward O'Grady. 

Mullins is, by far, the most successful trainer in the history of the Champion Bumper. Ireland's top trainer has won the race nine times, with great jockeys like Ruby Walsh, Patrick Mullins and Katie Walsh entering the Champion Bumper winner's enclosure on one of Willie Mullins' horses.

Fan's favourite Cue Card won in the Champion Bumper in 2010 under Joe Tizzard. Colin Tizzard's star would go on to win the Ryanair Chase at Cheltenham in 2013.

Champagne Fever won the 2012 Champion Bumper, before going on to score in the Supreme Novices' Hurdle the following year.

Mares came out on top in back to back seasons in 2017 and '18, as Fayonaugh and Relegate triumphed for Gordon Elliott and Willie Mullins' respectively.

Envoi Allen collected his first Cheltenham Festival win in the 2019 Champion Bumper, and ran away with the Ballymore in 2020.

The 2020 Champion Bumper, again, went the way of Willie Mullins, as Ferny Hallow scooted past stablemate Appreciate It to claim an impressive victory. Sir Gerhard then upset Kilcruit in 2021, as Willie Mullins saddled another 1-2 in the Champion Bumper.

Champion Bumper Winners

2023 A Dream To Share
2022 Facile Vega
2021 Sir Gerhard
2020 Ferny Hallow
2019 Envoi Allen
2018 Relegate
2017 Fayonaugh
2016 Ballyandy
2015 Moon Racer
2014 Silver Concorde
2013 Briar Hill
2012 Champagne Fever
2011 Cheltenian
2010 Cue Card
2009 Dunguib
2008 Cousin Vinny
2007 Cork All Star
2006 Hairy Molly
2005 Missed That
2004 Total Enjoyment
2003 Liberman
2002 Pizarro

Champion Bumper FAQs

When is the Champion Bumper?

The 2024 Champion Bumper will take place at 5:30pm on day two of the Cheltenham Festival on Wednesday 13th March.

What is the Champion Bumper?

The Champion Bumper is a Grade One race run on day two of the Cheltenham Festival. The Champion Bumper is the only race at the Cheltenham Festival where no obstacles will be jumped, and the novice runners have to tackle a two-mile trip.

Who won the Champion Bumper?

John Kiely's A Dream To Share beat Fact To File and Captain Teague in the 2023 Champion Bumper.

Where can I watch the Champion Bumper?

The 2024 Champion Bumper will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to stream the race live on your mobile or tablet then visit our Live Streaming page for more details.