• Home
  • Cheltenham Festival
  • Day Two Tips
  • Champion Chase

When is the 2025 Champion Chase?

Last updated: 20 Mar 2024
John Eastwood 20 Mar 2024
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2025 Champion Chase
  • The Champion Chase takes place at Cheltenham on Wednesday 12th March in 2025
captain guinness
Rachael Blackmore celebrates after riding Captain Guinness to win the Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase. (Getty)

When is the 2025 Champion Chase?

The 2025 Champion Chase will take place on day two of the Cheltenham Festival on Wednesday 12th March. The Champion Chase will be run at 3:30pm.

Who won the last Champion Chase?

After hot-favourite El Fabiolo was pulled up, Captain Guinness defeated Gentleman De Mee to hand Henry De Bromhead another win in the Champion Chase.

What is the Champion Chase?

The Champion Chase is the feature Championship race on day two of the Cheltenham Festival. The Champion Chase is named in honour of the Queen Mother, and is run over a distance of two miles.

Where is the Champion Chase run?

The Champion Chase is always run at Cheltenham racecourse during their popular Cheltenham Festival, held during the middle week of March every year.

Which horses will run in the Champion Chase?

El Fabiolo is the early favourite for next year's Champion Chase, despite his poor performance at Cheltenham this year. Former two-time winner, Energumene and Arkle winner Gaelic Warrior could also represent Willie Mullins, with Captain Guinness likely to defend his crown.

Where can I watch the 2025 Champion Chase?

The 2025 Champion Chase will be shown live on ITV and RacingTV. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Champion Chase Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2025 Champion Chase live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Champion Chase Live StreamingHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Champion Chase History

The Champion Chase is the newest of the four Championship race at the Cheltenham Festival. This Grade One chase takes place on day two of the Cheltenham Festival, and is run over a two-mile trip.

The race was renamed in honour of the Queen Mother during the year of her 80th birthday in 1980. The Queen Mother gave a huge amount of time to the sport of horse racing during her lifetime, and came within a whisker of owning a Champion Chaser when her horse, Game Spirit finished second to Skymas in 1976.

Skymas is one eleven two-time winners of the Champion Chase. That illustrious list includes Fortria, Hilly Way, Viking Flagship, Moscow Flyer, Masterminded, Sprinter Sacre and Altior.

Only one horse has managed to win the Champion Chase three times, and that was Michael Dickinson's Badsworth Boy, who secured a hat-trick of wins between 1983 and '85.

Legendary horses like Flyingbolt, Crisp and One Man have all won the Champion Chase. Many horses use the Arkle Challenge Trophy as a stepping stone to the Champion Chase the following year.

Three trainers have won this Championship race six times. The first being Tom Dreaper, who saddled six of the first 11 winners of this great race.

Nicky Henderson and Paul Nicholls both have six wins apiece. The great friends and rivals have shared nine of the last 13 runnings between them.

There was barely a dry eye in the house on Ladies' Day in 2016, when ten-year-old Sprinter Sacre rolled back the years and won his second Champion Chase, three years after his first win in 2013.

Gary Moore celebrated a famous win when Sire De Grugy became Champion chaser in 2014. Henry De Bromhead has won the race twice, first with Sizing Europe in 2011, before Special Tiara scored a surprise win in  2016.

Altior won back-to-back Champion Chases in 2018 and '19. With Nicky Henderson's star out injured, Paul Nicholls got back in on the act, as Harry Skelton guided Politologue to victory.

Willie Mullins' Chacun Pour Soi went off in the 2021 Queen Mother as the odds-on favourite, but he was beaten into third by Put The Kettle On, who claimed a surprise win. Mullins long wait for a first Champion Chase win ended the following season, as Energumene stormed to an impressive victory.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

23 May 2024

  • 2024 Brigadier Gerard Stakes -
  • Horse Racing

31 May 2024

Load More