• Home
  • Ireland
  • Irish Champions Weekend
  • Irish Champion Stakes

When is the 2023 Irish Champion Stakes?

Last updated: 14 Sep 2022
Conrad Castleton 14 Sep 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2023 Irish Champion Stakes
  • This Group One will be run at Leopardstown on Saturday 9th September 2023
When is the 2023 Irish Champion Stakes
Ryan Moore riding Luxembourg (blue/maroon) win The Irish Champion Stakes from Stephane Pasquier riding Onesto (white) at Leopardstown. (Getty)

When is the 2023 Irish Champion Stakes?

The 2023 Irish Champion Stakes will be run at Leopardstown racecourse on Saturday 9th September 2023.

What is the Irish Champion Stakes?

The Irish Champion Stakes is the feature Group One race on day one of Irish Champions Weekend. This lucrative race is open to horses of three-years-old and above, and run over a trip of ten furlongs.

Who won the Irish Champion Stakes?

Aidan O'Brien won yet another Irish Champion Stakes in 2022, as three-year-old Luxembourg held off French raiders Onesto and Vadeni.

Which horses will run in the 2022 Irish Champion Stakes?

Luxembourg could return to Leopardstown as a four-year-old to defend his Irish Champions Stakes crown in 2022. Aidan O'Brien's star could face off against Vadeni once again. Horses who ran in the Guineas, Derby, Coral-Eclipse and Juddmonte International Stakes often run in the Irish Champion Stakes.

Where is the Irish Champion Stakes run?

The Irish Champions Stakes is run at Leopardstown racecourse, situated in Dublin, Ireland.

Where can I watch the Irish Champion Stakes?

The Irish Champions Stakes will be shown on channels like ITV and RacingTV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Irish Champion Stakes Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2023 Irish Champions Stakes live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Sprint Cup Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Irish Champion Stakes History

The Irish Champion Stakes is one of the most prestigious flat races in Irish Racing. The race is open to three-year-olds and above, and a trip of one-and-a-quarter-miles will have to be completed.

The Irish Champion Stakes was first run at Leopardstown in 1986. It's a Group One race sponsored by QIPCO and is part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge Series, with the winner guaranteeing them a place in the Breeders' Cup Turf later in November.

Winners of the Irish Champion Stakes often go on to run in the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe - Europe's most prestigious flat race. The first horse to win both races in the same season was Carroll House, who scored at Leopardstown and Longchamp under Mick Kinane in 1989.

Dylan Thomas is the only horse to win the Irish Champion Stakes twice, successfully retaining his crown in 2007. Aidan O'Brien's star also won the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe later than autumn.

Three other legends of the game managed to win the Irish Champion Stakes and the Arc in the same season. Suave Dancer managed it in 1991. Sea The Stars landed the double in 2009, six years before Golden Horn won both races under Frankie Dettori.

Although the race is staged in Ireland, British trainers have enjoyed plenty of success in this Group One. Henry Cecil, Sir Michael Stoute, Ed Dunlop and Kevin Ryan have all saddled winners of the Irish Champion Stakes. 

Roger Charlton's first victory came in 2017, when five-year-old Decorated Knight defeated his Irish rivals. John Gosden then celebrated his third win the following year, as Roaring Lion defeated Saxon Warrior in stunning fashion.

Aidan O'Brien is the most successful trainer in the history of the Irish Champion Stakes. Aidan's first winner came in 2000 when Giants Causeway won. His eighth and most recent triumph came in 2020, when top-mare Magical headed a 1-2-3 for Ballydoyle.

Ghaiyyath travelled to Leopardstown as the odds-on favourite in 2020, but it was Magical who prevailed once again, retaining her crown with another superb performance.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

17 April 2024

  • 2024 Nell Gwyn Stakes -
  • Horse Racing

20 April 2024

04 May 2024

  • 2000 and 1000 Guineas Ante-Post Tips -
  • Horse Racing
Load More