91 Showlhs N

2024 Coral-Eclipse Stakes Tips, Odds and News

The Eclipse Stakes, also known as the Coral-Eclipse, is one of the premier thoroughbred races in the UK, with a big purse of £500,000.

Held at Sandown Park in July, the Eclipse Stakes might not have the same appeal as the Royal Ascot carnival, but it's one of the most important Group 1 races on the calendar.

Some of the best middle-distance champions have won the Eclipse Stakes and it's a big target race for the stallion breeding barns.

Coral-Eclipse Stakes Key Facts

DateSaturday July 8, 2023
TrackSandown Park
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money£500,000

Coral-Eclipse Stakes Odds

You'll find the latest odds for the Coral-Eclipse Stakes in the News section at the top of this page...

Coral-Eclipse Stakes Tips

Our guide to the Coral-Eclipse Stakes will be published in the days leading up to the race.

Coral-Eclipse Day Card

The seven-race card includes the Eclipse Stakes and the Group 3 Coral Charge, which is always an exciting 1000m event.

Race No.
Race Name
1Handicap Stakes
2Coral Charge
3Coral Challenge
4Coral Distaff
5Eclipse Stakes
6Coral Marathon
7Coral App Handicap Stakes

Eclipse Stakes History

Named in honour of 18th Century racehorse Eclipse, the 2002m feature has been run and won by many champions thoroughbreds since.

Established in 1886, the Eclipse Stakes was the richest race in Britain with a prize pool of £10,000.

It's best known to attract the Classic horses which have competed in the likes of the Derby and it's often considered a stallion-making race.

It has been sponsored by Coral Bookmakers since 1976 and is often referred to as the Coral-Eclipse.

Lester Piggott has the record for most wins as a jockey with seven. His first win came in 1951 with Mystery IX and his final win came in 1977 with Artaius.

Sir Michael Stoute has six training wins in the Eclipse Stakes with his most recent win coming in 2017 with Ulysses and he continues to line up quality types in the Sandown Park feature.

Stoute has also trained the likes of Notnowcato Opera House and Medician, which are just a few of his champion winners of the Eclipse Stakes.

The stallion-making race has spawned the likes of So You Think, Sea The Stars and Oratorio, which all went on to successful careers at stud.

Three-year-olds have won three of the last five renewals, with former Epsom Derby winner, Golden Horn coming away victorious in 2015.

In 2019, John Gosden chose the Eclipse for Enable's triumphant return to action, and the dual-Arc winner held off fellow mare Magical to win in impressive fashion.

Enable fell to a surprise defeat on her first start of the 2020 season, losing out to the impresisve Ghaiyyath, who won for Charlie Appleby and Godolphin. Aidan O'Brien then celebrated another victory as St Mark's Basilica claimed an impressive win.

Eclipse Stakes betting guide

The Eclipse Stakes is popular with punters because there's rarely an upset winner.

The last double-figure odds chance to win was Mukhadram in 2014 when paying 14/1, but the only double-figure winner prior to that came in 2005 when the Aidan O'Brien-trained Oratorio paid 12/1 with bookmakers.

Punters have been relatively spot on since then. Ouija Board was the beaten 2/1 favourite in 2006, but David Junior had support at 9/4.

Notnowcato won at odds of 7/1 in 2007 when upsetting Authorized (4/7), but punters were around the mark again.

Favourites to win since 2007 have included Sea The Stars (4/7), Twice Over (13/8), So You Think (4/6), Al Kazeem (15/8) and Golden Horn (4/9).

The Eclipse Stakes is definitely a race for the favourites. Even the upset winners have been well-found in the market, which is why it's such a popular race for bettors.

Eclipse Stakes trends

Nine of the last 12 winners were aged four or five and 10 of the last 12 winners were in the top three in betting.

Only four of the last 12 winners won their lead-up race to the Eclipse Stakes and only four placed in their previous run, so form isn't necessary.

10 of those 12 winners had at least seven flat runs and eight winners had a rating of 122 or higher.

Nine winners had at least one Group 1 victory prior to running and nine of the last 12 winners had at least two runs that season.

Eclipse Stakes winners

Race Winner
2021St Mark's Basilica
2018Roaring Lion
2015Golden Horn
2013Al Kazeem
2011So You Think
2010Twice Over
2009Sea The Stars
2008Mount Nelson
2006David Junior
2004Refuse to Bend
2002Hawk Wing
2000Giant's Causeway
1999Compton Admiral
1993Opera House
1991Environment Friend