2021 Kauto Star Novices' Chase Tips, Odds & Predictions

The Kauto Star Novices' Chase is the first Grade One race to be staged during Kempton's Christmas Festival.

This Grade One was first run on Boxing Day in 1975, and it's run over a three-mile trip. Many great horses have won this race, including future Cheltenham Festival winners like Long Run and Coneygree.

2021 Kauto Star Novices' Chase Odds

No odds are currently available for the 2021 Kauto Star Novices' Chase. I would be amazed if McFabulous wasn't the favourite, though...

2021 Kauto Star Novices' Chase Tips

We'll publish our guide to the 2021 Kauto Star Novices' Chase when the final field has been confirmed.

2020 Kauto Star Novices' Chase Result

1stShan Blue9/4f
2ndThe Big Breakaway3/1
3rdIf The Cap Fits8/1

Kauto Star Novices' Chase Day Card

12:50pmNovices' Hurdle (Class 2) 2m
1:20pmNovices' Handicap Chase (Class 3) 2m4f
1:55pmKauto Star Novices' Chase (Grade 1) 3m
2:30pmChristmas Hurdle (Grade 1) 2m
3:05pmKing George VI Chase (Grade 1) 3m
3:40pmHandicap Hurdle (Class 3) 2m5f

Kauto Star Novices' Chase History

Originally titled the Feltham Novices' Chase, this three-mile Grade One was added to the schedule at Kempton's Christmas Festival in 1975.

In 2012, the race was named in honour of Kauto Star, who won the Gold Cup twice for Paul Nicholls, and lifted the King George VI Chase trophy here at Kempton on a record five occasions.

Legendary trainers like Fred Winter, Fulke Walwyn and David Elsworth have all trained winners of the Kauto Star. Nicky Henderson won this Grade One for the first time in 1990, and has gone on to saddle the winner four times since.

Henderson's most recent winner came in 2009 when Sam Waley-Cohen guided Long Run to victory. Long Run would go on to beat Kauto Star in the King George in 2011, and again in the Cheltenham Gold Cup that same season.

AP McCoy rode the winner of the Kauto Star on three occasions, guiding horses trained by Martin Pipe, Henrietta Knight and Charles Egerton to victory. 

Popular grey Dynaste won under Tom Scudamore in 2012. He was followed into the winners' enclosure by other fan's favourites like Annacotty and Tea For Two, who helped Lizzie Kelly become the first female jockey to ride a Grade One winner on British soil when they scored in 2015.

Coneygree won the Kauto Star under Nico De Boinville in 2014. Mark Bradstock's star then became the first novice to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup just three months later.

Like Nicky Henderson, Paul Nicholls has won the race named after his stable star four times. His most recent win came in 2017, as Bryony Frost rode Black Corton to victory.

Warren Greatrex's mare, La Bague Au Roi won a cracking renewal of the Kauto Star in 2018, beating Topofthegame and Santini, who went on to finish first and second in the RSA Novices' Chase at the Cheltenham Festival that season.

Colin Tizzard claimed his first victory in 2007 when Lively Joe won in good style. Tizzard has had two further winners since, including in 2019, as Slate House saw off Black Op to win at Kempton.

Dan Skelton celebrated for the first time in 2020, as Shan Blue made all and held off The Big Breakaway to secure a maiden Grade One win in the Kauto Star.

Kauto Star Novices' Chase Winners

2020 Shan Blue
2019 Slate House
2018 La Bague Au Roi
2017 Black Corton
2016 Royal Vacation
2015 Tea For Two
2014 Coneygree
2013 Annacotty
2012 Dynaste
2011 Grands Crus
2010 no race
2009 Long Run
2008 Breedsbreeze
2007 Joe Lively
2006 Ungaro
2005 Darkness
2004 Ollie Magern
2003 Strong Flow
2002 Jair du Cochet

Gold Cup winner Coneygree winning the Kauto Star in 2014