• Home
  • UK
  • St Leger

When is the 2023 St Leger?

Last updated: 14 Sep 2022
Conrad Castleton 14 Sep 2022
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2023 St Leger
  • This Classic will be run at Doncaster on Sunday 17th September 2023
David Egan riding Eldar Eldarov wins the Cazoo St Leger Stakes at Doncaster. (Getty)

When is the 2023 St Leger?

The 2023 St Leger will be run at Doncaster racecourse on Sunday 17th September 2023.

What is the St Leger?

The St Leger is the final Classic staged during the flat racing season. This historic race is open to three-year-old colts and fillies,  and it's run over a grueling 14-and-a-half furlong trip.

Who won the St Leger?

Roger Varian celebrated his second victory in this Classic in 2022, as David Egan rode Eldar Eldarov to victory.

Which horses will run in the 2022 St Leger?

As the St Leger is only open to the Classic generation, horses who ran in races like the Epsom Derby and the Epsom Oaks often take to the field at Doncaster. Other important trials races include the Queen's Vase at Royal Ascot, the Great Voltigeur Stakes at York and the Gordon Stakes at Goodwood.

Where is the St Leger run?

The St Leger is run at Doncaster racecourse, situated in Yorkshire, England.

Where can I watch the St Leger?

The St Leger will be shown on channels like ITV and RacingTV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

St Leger Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2023 St Leger live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Betfair Chase Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
18+ only. T&Cs apply. Stay in Control. Gamble Responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

St Leger History

Of the five Classic races staged in Britain, the St Leger is the oldest. First run back in 1776, four years before the Epsom Derby, the St Leger boasts a long and storied history, along with a glittering roll of hnour.

When Anthony St Leger first devised the race, it was run over a two-mile trip at Doncaster and named "A Sweepstake Of 25 Guineas". The following season, the race was renamed the "St Leger" and, in 1813, the length of the contest was reduced to its current distance of 1m 6½f.

The most famous early winner of the St Leger was Champion, who became the first horse to win the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in the same season in 1800. 

In 1853, West Australian became the first horse to complete the fabled Triple Crown, winning the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in a calendar year.

In 1906, it was decided that geldings would not be allowed to run in the St Leger. During the first World War, the St Leger was staged at Newmarket. The race was held at multiple venues during World War II, including Newmarket, York, Manchester and Thirsk.

Since then, there have only been two years when the St Leger hasn't been run at Doncaster. Michelozzo won this Classic at Ayr in 1989. When Town Moor was closed for redevelopment in 2006, the St Leger was moved to York, where Simple Verse came out on top.

Since West Australian's triumph in 1853, 14 colts have completed the Triple Crown at Doncaster. Other famous Triple Crown winners include Ormonde, Gary Crusader, Gainsborough and Nijinsky, who was the last colt to win the Triple Crown in 1970.

Nine fillies have completed their version of the Triple Crown with victory in the St Leger. The most recent of those being the great Oh So Sharp, who reigned supreme at Doncaster in 1985.

Legendary trainer, John Scott is by far the most successful handler in St Leger history, having saddled the winner 16 times between 1827 and 1862.

John's brother, Bill Scott is the most successful jockey, having ridden the winner of the St Leger nine times, with six of those wins coming aboard one of his brother's horses.

In 1822, 200/1 outsider Theodore claimed a shock victory in the St Leger, and remains the longest-priced winner of a Group One race in British racing history.

Great names like Donovan, Sceptre and Pretty Polly won the St Leger around the turn of the 20th century. 

Frankie Dettori won the first of his six St Leger's aboard Classic Cliche in 1995, and repeated the trick with Shantou 12 months later. 

Milan, Scorpion and Lucarno all won the St Leger in the 21st century, and have gone on to have highly-successful careers as National Hunt sires.

Camelot attempted to complete the Triple Crown at Doncaster in 2012, but Aidan O'Brien's 2/5 favourite was defeated by 25/1 shot Encke, ridden by Mickael Barzalona.

Harbour Law handed small-time trainer Laura Mongan a surprise win in 2016, defeating odds-on favourite Idaho, who unseated his rider three furlongs from home.

Aidan O'Brien saddled his sixth and seventh St Leger winners in 2017 and '18, with Capri and Kew Gardens coming out on top.

In 2019, Frankie Dettori ended his 11-year wait for another St Leger winner, cruising to victory aboard John Gosden's Logician in impressive fashion.

Having ridden the St Leger winner for his father in 2011, Joseph O'Brien celebrated victory as a trainer in 2020, as Galileo Chrome win the 2020 St Leger.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events