• Home
  • UK
  • Vertem Futurity Trophy

When is the 2024 Futurity Trophy?

31 Oct 2023
Ben Darvill 31 Oct 2023
Share this article
Or copy link
success image
  • We bring you the dates and vital information about the 2024 Futurity Trophy
  • This Group One will be run at Doncaster on Saturday 26th October 2024
Ancient Wisdom winning at Doncaster. (Getty)

When is the 2024 Futurity Trophy?

The 2024 Futurity Trophy will be run at Doncaster racecourse on Saturday 26th October 2024.

What is the Futurity Trophy?

The Futurity Trophy is the final Group One race of the British flat racing season. This race is for juveniles only and is staged over a distance of one mile (eight furlongs). Winners of the Futurity Trophy have often gone on to win races like the 2000 Guineas and the Epsom Derby the following season.

Who won the St Leger?

Charlie Appleby saddled his only Group One winner in Britain in the 2023 Futurity Trophy, as William Buick rode favourite Ancient Wisdom to victory.

Which horses will run in the 2023 Futurity Trophy?

The Futurity Trophy is open only to two-year-olds. Horses who impress in lead-up races like the Superlative Stakes, the Dewhurst Stakes and the National Stakes will often run in this lucrative Group One at the end of the season.

Where is the Futurity Trophy run?

The Futurity Trophy is run at Doncaster racecourse, situated in Yorkshire, England.

Where can I watch the Futurity Trophy?

The Futurity Trophy will be shown on channels like ITV and RacingTV, but the easiest way would be to stream the race live. If you plan on watching the racing via your mobile or tablet, then bookmakers such as bet365 will allow you to stream the race live.

Futurity Trophy Live Streaming 

The bet365 live streaming service covers a wide range of horse racing on a daily basis. Here's how to stream the 2024 Futurity Trophy live online:

  1. Visit bet365 > live streaming > horse racing
  2. Log-in or register for an account (use the bet365 bonus code NEWBONUS if opening a new account)
  3. Registered depositing users can then watch and bet on live horse racing.

Betfair Chase Live StreamHorse Racing Live Streaming with bet365WATCH HERE
18+ only. T&Cs apply. Stay in Control. Gamble Responsibly. Think! About your choices. Call Gambling Help on 1800 858 858 or visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au.

To watch a bet365 live stream users must be logged in and have a funded account or to have placed a bet in the last 24 hours. 18+, geo-restrictions & terms and conditions apply.

Open Account Offer: Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code NEWBONUS can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Futurity Trophy History

The Futurity Trophy was created in 1961 by Phil Bull, creator of Timeform. Originally known as the Timeform Gold Cup, this Group One has had several sponsors down the years, most recently Vertem Futurity, who renamed the race the Vertem Futurity Trophy in 2018.

Legendary jockey's Lestor Piggot and Pat Eddery both rode six winners of this race apiece during their careers. 

Piggot's first win came in 1966 aboard Ribocco, who would go on to win the Irish Derby and the St Leger the following season. Eddery's most high-profile Futurity Trophy winner was 1986 winner Reference Point, who followed up in the Epsom Derby, the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the St Leger in 1987.

Sir Henry Cecil racked up a total of 10 winners in this Group One during his stellar training career. Approval was Cecil's first winner in 1969. Future King George winner, King's Theatre handed Cecil his tenth and final winner in 1993. 

In recent years, Aidan O'Brien has pulled level with Sir Henry Cecil at the top of the trainer standings. Amongst O'Brien's ten Futurity Trophy winners are Epsom and Irish Derby winner High Chaparral, St Leger winner Brian Boru, three-time Coronation Cup winner Sir Nicholas Abbey, and 2011 winner Camelot, who was narrowly denied the Triple Crown by Enke in the following season's St Leger here at Doncaster.

Motivator and Authorized won the Futurity Trophy in 2004 and 2006 respectively. Both would go on to win the Epsom Derby and become leading sires after they retired to stud.

Between 2017 and 2019, all three winners of the Futurity Trophy would go on to win the 2000 Guineas the following year. The 2019 winner was Kameko, who won the rescheduled race at Newcastle - the first Group One in Britain ever to be run on an artificial surface.

Top Betting Sites

special-offer-1Betting offers

Upcoming Events

24 February 2024

Load More