2018 Victoria Derby Tips & Betting Predictions

DateSaturday November 3, 2018
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize Money$2 million

The Victoria Derby is one of the highlight Group 1 races of the spring and Derby Day is the best betting cards at Flemington during the Melbourne Spring Carnival.

A maximum field of the best staying three-year-olds in Australia lines up and the Derby has become one of the most important stallion-making races. The form out of the Derby has stacked up on the world stage with winners competing at a high level around the world.

It’s a great way to start the carnival and punters consider Derby Day as the best betting day of the year.

Victoria Derby betting card 2018

Race No.
Race Name
1Carbine Club Stakes
2Mumm Stakes
3Skip Sprint
4Lexus Stakes
5Coolmore Stud Stakes
6Myer Classic
7Victoria Derby
8Kennedy Mile
9TAB Stakes

2018 Victoria Derby betting selections & tips

We will have expert tips for the Victoria Derby available when the final-field markets are released by bookmakers.

Victoria Derby history

The Victoria Derby is one of the oldest thoroughbred races in Australia, having first run in 1855. It was held over 2400m until 1972 when it was changed to 2500m due to the growing concerns about the short run into the first corner.

The first three Victoria Derbies were won by fillies but there hasn’t been a filly win the Derby since 1923 when Frances Tressady scored. The colts and geldings have since dominated the race and the markets reflect that.

History was created when Clare Lindop became the first female jockey to ride and win the Derby. Gai Waterhouse also became the first female to train a winner when Nothin’ Leica Dane scored for the famous trainer in 1995.

The huge social occasion of Derby Day has always had a great impact on Australian racing. The crowd numbers have topped 115,000 for the last four years running and it continues to attract the biggest crowds, bigger than Melbourne Cup Day on the following Tuesday.

Past winners of the Victoria Derby have gone on to have successful stud careers and also notable success overseas. Efficient scored in 2006 before winning the Melbourne Cup and names such as Lion Tamer, Monaco Consul and Sangster have added an international flair to the great race.

Australasian greats Phar Lap, Dulcify and Tulloch were winners of the Derby. All three runners would late be immortalised in the Australian Racing Hall of Fame and winning the Derby helped pave the way to their stunning careers.

There are some derbies around the world where middle-distance types can see out the distance but Victorian Derby winners are true stayers and typically the fittest horse wins.

Victoria Derby betting guide

The Victoria Derby is typically won by a future champion but punters haven't had the easiest time picking a winner recently.

Over the last 10 years, only one favourite has won and six of those 10 favourites have failed to finish in the first three. That one favourite to win was Tarzino in 2015 when winning at 15/8 and there have been some big upsets since.

Fiveandahalfstar won at 40.00 in 2012, which followed two consecutive winners that paid 13.00. Both were New Zealand-trained runners which are always tough to beat in the Victoria Derby.

Recent New Zealand-trained winners include Sangster, Lion Tamer, Monaco Consul and Efficient, with the first three winning in consecutive years.

Punters often get lulled into backing the best middle-distance thoroughbreds but lightning speed isn’t needed to win the Victoria Derby and backing the “plodding” stayers can reap rewards. Seeing out the 2500m isn’t easy on the three-year-old stayers and identifying which runners will see it out is key.

Look for previous form over long distances, which could include the New Zealand Derby in March.

Victoria Derby form guide

The AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley is the traditional lead-up race to the Victoria Derby, which has spawned many winners. Efficient, Tarzino and a host of other AAMI Vase runners have gone on to win the Victoria Derby.

The Group 1 Spring Champion Stakes in Sydney has featured the last three winners. It was captured by Ace High before he won in 2017 with Prized Icon (2016) and Tarzino (2015) also completing the double, making it three-straight wins for the runners with Sydney form.

Following the Derby, many runners compete in the Australian Cup, Ranvet Stakes, The BMW and the following Caulfield Cup.

The form can translate over to the Melbourne Cup as well. Efficient scored a Derby win in 2006 before winning the Melbourne Cup in 2007.

Recent Victoria Derby winners

Derby Winner
2017Ace High
2016Prized Icon
2010Lion Tamer
2009Monaco Consul
2008Rebel Raider
2000Hit The Roof
1997Second Coming
1996Portland Player
1995Nothin’ Leica Dane
1991Star of the Realm
1990Fire Oak
1989Stylish Century
1988Kings High