The Championships Tips & Predictions

The Championships was inaugurated in 2014 and it now features some of the world's biggest thoroughbred racing. 

With over $20 million in stake money on offer across two Saturday's, The Championships is rivaling the Melbourne Cup Carnival for attention and it's Sydney's biggest carnival.

Held every April on consecutive Saturday's at Randwick, The Championships highlights the very best in Australian racing and around the world over multiple disciplines. 

Sprinting, middle-distance and staying events are all featured over the two days and punters target this carnival every year. 

With four Group 1 races featured each day, The Championships is non-stop action and is only getting bigger on the global scale.

2019 The Championships Day 1 schedule

The Doncaster Mile and the Australian Derby take centre stage on Day 1. 

Held on Saturday, April 7, the day is also supported with the T.J. Smith Stakes for the sprinters and the Sires' Produce Stakes for the juveniles.

Also featured on the card is the Country Championships Final, which brings all the best country-trained horses to the big city.

The Championships Day 1

Race Name
2018 Winner
Widden StakesPaquirri
Carbine Club Stakes
Chairman's Handicap
Sir Charles Road
Country Championships Final
P.J. Bell Stakes
Sires' Produce Stakes
El Dorado Dreaming
Australian Derby
T.J. Smith Stakes
Trapeze Artist
Doncaster Mile
Happy Clapper
Adrian Knox Stakes

2018 The Championships Day 2 schedule

Day 2 is just as good as the opening day, with the Queen Elizabeth Stakes being run for $4 million. 

The Sydney Cup is one of the key lead-up races for the Melbourne Cup and the day also includes the Queen of the Turf and the Australian Oaks for the fillies and mares. 

The Provincial Champions Final is carded for the best provincial horses in Sydney, but it often includes some of the bigger stables.

The Championships Day 2

Race Name
2017 Winner
Fernhill Handicap
Whispered Secret
South Pacific Classic
Percy Sykes Stakes
Provincial Championships Final
Arrowfield Sprint
Australian Oaks
Queen Elizabeth Stakes
Sydney Cup
Queen of the Turf Stakes
Sapphire Stakes
Secret Agenda

The Championships betting

Betting for the individual Championships races is open throughout most of the year. 

Races such as the Doncaster Mile and Queen Elizabeth Stakes attract big attention from both Australian and offshore punters, which forces bookmakers to open futures markets early.

Punters can request odds for most of the Group 1 races if your selected runner isn't on the list and be sure to check our nominations page for the latest updates.

Royal Randwick track guide

Randwick is Sydney's premier race track and was given its Royal status in 1992 when Queen Elizabeth II visited the course.

It's the home of the Australian Turf Club and is host to not only The Championships, but 17 Group 1 races in total throughout the year.

The Everest was staged at Randwick for the first time in 2017 and Randwick continues to attract the big races and best horses from around the world.