US Triple Crown tips & betting predictions

The US Triple Crown is awarded to the thoroughbred which takes home the three biggest three-year-old races in the US. 

It starts off with the Kentucky Derby, which is run in early May and also features the Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes. 

It's not an easy feat to achieve. Many champion thoroughbreds have won the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes before not being able to see out the distance of the Belmont. 

Only 12 horses have won the US Triple Crown, with the most recent coming in 2015 when American Pharoah put away his opposition with ease. 

Winners of the US Triple Crown include War Admiral, Affirmed and Secretariat, which was considered "The people's horse" during its time.

US Triple Crown races

Kentucky Derby:

The Kentucky Derby kicks off the Triple Crown and in style.

Considered as the best thoroughbred race in North American, "The Run for the Roses" is met with an abundance of fan-fare and the field of 20 always have a dream of winning the Triple Crown. 

Held at Churchill Downs in May, the Kentucky-based race is run over 2000m and is the first stepping stone to becoming the next Triple Crown winner.  

Preakness Stakes:

The Preakness Stakes can often be easier to win than the Derby, because most of the Derby field has given up hope on the Triple Crown. 

Held at Pimlico in Baltimore, the Preakness is a slight drop in distance to 1900m, which doesn't make much of a difference for the Derby runners but it does make a difference for the Belmont Stakes. 

With a field of only 14 runners, the Preakness is a more select field and Derby winners always run as the short favourite.

Belmont Stakes:

"The Test of the Champion" is a good way to describe the Belmont Stakes, which has a knack of upset results. 

The rise to 2400m catches most Triple Crown contenders out as the other two legs of the Triple Crown are run at much harder pace. 

The drop is distance from 2000m to 1900m for the Preakness Stakes is what makes it so tough to win the Triple Crown and the staying distance of the Belmont Stakes is too much to handle. 

Some thoroughbreds target the New York feature which also makes winning the Triple Crown that much harder.

Kentucky Derby race program

Race Name
2017 Winner
Humana DistaffPaulasilverlining
Churchill DistaffRoca Rojo
Pat Day MileWild Shot
American TurfArklow
Churchill Downs StakesLimousine Liberal
Woodford Reserve Turf ClassicDivisidero
Kentucky DerbyAlways Dreaming

Preakness Stakes race program

Race Name
2017 Winner
Chick Lang StakesRecruiting Ready
Gallorette HandicapCambodia
Dixie StakesWorld Approval
Preakness StakesCloud Computing
Maryland Sprint HandicapWhitmore
Sir Barton StakesNo Mo Dough
The Very One StakesEverything Lovely

Belmont Stakes race program

Race Name
2017 Winner
Just A Game StakesAntonoe
Jaipur InvitationalDisco Partner
Acorn StakesAbel Tasman
Manhattan HandicapAscend
Woody Stephens StakesAmerican Anthem
Metropolitan HandicapMor Spirit
Belmont StakesTapwrit
Easy Goer StakesWest Coast
Brooklyn InvitationalWar Story
Ogden Phillips HandicapSongbird

Triple Crown winners

2015American Pharoah
1977Seattle Slew
1943Count Fleet
1937War Admiral
1930Gallant Fox
1919Sir Barton