2022 Champion Hurdle Tips

The feature Championship race on day one of the Cheltenham Festival is the Unibet Champion Hurdle. First run at Cheltenham back in 1927, this two mile Grade One has been won by all of the best hurdlers to ever grace the sport, and a thrilling renewal of the Champion Hurdle is all-but-guaranteed.

2022 Champion Hurdle Key Facts

Date Tuesday 15th March, 2022
Time 3:05pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade One
Distance 2m
Prize Pool £450k
Age 4YO+

Day 1 Cheltenham Festival Free Bets 2022

BookmakerFree BetPromo CodeClaim Free Bet
Want a FREE £/€5?
1x Every DayGet £/€5 FREE
Completely Free £5 BetAny race on Day 1FREE FIVER
NEW: Bet £30 Get £30High Class Bookie£30 Bonus
Bet £10 Get £606x £10 for Wednesday£60 BONUS
£/€30 for CheltenhamCode: NEWBONUS£30 Bonus
Bet £10, Get £60Bet Through The Card£60 BONUS
Bet £5 Get £2020FREE£20 Bonus
$600 to Play PokerCode: NEWBONUS$600 Poker

2022 Champion Hurdle Odds

Bob Olinger8/1
Appreciate It10/1
Ferny Hollow12/1

*Odds taken from Paddy Power*

2022 Champion Hurdle Tips

Read our full guide to the 2022 Champion Hurdle here leading up to the Cheltenham Festival.

2022 Champion Hurdle Runners

Having established herself as the best hurdler in the business, Honeysuckle is the ante-post favourite to retain her Champion Hurdle crown. Champion of 2020, Epatante is a 12/1 shot, while two-time runner-up Sharjah can be found at 25/1.

Honeysuckle's stablemate, Bob Olinger blitzed a classy field to win the 2021 Ballymore Novices' Hurdle, and he's the 8/1 second-favourite in the 2022 Champion Hurdle betting. Former Champion Bumper winner, Ferny Hollow sits third, with Triumph Hurdle winner Quilixios a little further back.

Supreme winner Appreciate It features in the ante-post Champion Hurdle market, as does Envoi Allen, who suffered the first defeat of his career at the Cheltenham Festival as he fell early in the Marsh Novices' Chase.

Black Tears edged out Concertista in the 2021 Mares' Hurdle, and both feature in the Champion Hurdle betting. Blue Lord and Haut En Couleurs can also be found in the betting, along with top juvenile Zanahiyr, who only finished fourth in this season's Triumph.

Abacadabras is a 16/1 shot, while Goshen is further adrift at 33/1, alongside Saint Roi and Aspire Tower. Gauloise, French Aseel, Shewearsitwell and Tritonic also feature in the 2022 Champion Hurdle betting.

Champion Hurdle Day Card

1:30pm Supreme Novices' Hurdle Grade One 2m
2:15pm Arkle Challenge Trophy Novice's Chase Grade One 2m
2:50pm Ultima Handicap Chase Grade Three Handicap 3m
3:30pm Champion Hurdle Grade One 2m
4:10pm Mares' Hurdle Grade One 2m 4f
4:50pm Boodles Juvenile Handicap Hurdle Grade Three Handicap 2m
5:30pm National Hunt Chase Grade Two 3m 6f

Champion Hurdle History

The highlight on day one of the Cheltenham Festival is the Champion Hurdle. This Championship race was first run at Cheltenham in 1927, and the Champion Hurdle has been won by many of the sport's greatest names.

Brown Jack won the second running of the Champion Hurdle in 1928. He went on to win the Queen Alexandra Stakes at Royal Ascot for six years on the bounce, as well as victories in the Goodwood Cup, Doncaster Cup and the Ebor.

Insurance was the first two-time winner of the Champion Hurdle, securing back to back wins in 1932 and '33. National Spirit repeated that feat in the late 1940s, before the great Hatton's Grace reeled off a hat-trick of Champion Hurdle triumphs between 1949 and 1951.

The following year, Sir Ken began his own sequence of three Champion Hurdle wins. Other three-time winners include Persian War, See You Then and Instabraq, who secured his hat-trick of victories right at the end of the 20th century.

Four jockeys have won the Champion Hurdle on four separate occasions. Tim Molony rode both Hatton's Grace and Sir Kien, Gold Cup winning jockey Ruby Walsh rode four winners for Willie Mullins, scoring on Faugheen, Annie Power and twice aboard the great Hurricane Fly.

Three of Barry Geraghty's four victories came on Nicky Henderson horses. Henderson is the most successful trainer in the history of the Champion Hurdle, having saddled the winner eight times Whenever you read any Cheltenham Festival tips, Nicky Henderson's name will appear regularly.

Hardy Eustace stole the hearts of the nation with back-to-back Champion Hurdle wins in the mid-2000s. Hurricane Fly was the next superstar to come out of the Champion Hurdle, handing Willie Mullins his first and second victories in 2011 and '13.

Buveur D'Air then secured back-to-back wins for Geraghty and Henderson in 2017 and '18. With his former winner on the sidelines, Henderson turned to top mare Epatante in 2020, and she powered home under Geraghty to secure an impressive victory over four of Ireland's best.

For the second year in a row, a mare reigned supreme at Cheltenham, as unbeaten Honeysuckle powered to a superb victory in the Champion Hurdle.

Champion Hurdle Winners

2021 Honeysuckle
2020 Epatante
2019 Epsoir D'Allen
2018 Buveur D'Air
2017 Buveur D'Air
2016 Annie Power
2015 Faugheen
2014 Jezki
2013 Hurricane Fly
2012 Rock Of Ruby
2011 Hurricane Fly
2010 Binocular
2009 Punjabi
2008 Katchit
2007 Sublimity
2006 Brave Inca
2005 Hardy Eustace
2004 Hardy Eustace
2003 Rooster Booster
2002 Hors La Loi III

Results 2020 Champion Hurdle

1st Honeysuckle 11/10f
2nd Sharjah 11/1
3rd Epatante 4/1

Champion Hurdle FAQs

When is the Champion Hurdle?

The 2022 Champion Hurdle will be run at 3:05pm on day one of the Cheltenham Festival on Tuesday 15th March.

What is the Champion Hurdle?

The Champion Hurdle is the feature Championship race on day one of the Cheltenham Festival. It was first staged in 1927 and is run over a two-mile trip.

Who won the Champion Hurdle?

The 2021 Champion Hurdle was won by Honeysuckle, who remained unbeaten after an excellent victory.

Who's the favourite for the Champion Hurdle?

Defending Champion, Honeysuckle leads the ante-post betting.Epatante, Bob Olinger and Appreciate It also feature in the betting.

Where can I watch the Champion Hurdle?

The 2022 Champion Hurdle will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to watch the race live on your mobile or tablet, check out our Live Streaming page.