Arkle Challenge Trophy Tips 2021

Named after one of the greatest horses to ever grace the Cheltenham Festival, the Arkle is the first Grade One for chasers at the meeting. Many of the sport's greatest names have ended their first season over fences with victory in the Arkle Challenge Trophy, and a strong field will line up to compete for this coveted prize in 2021.

2021 Arkle Challenge Trophy Key Facts

Date Tuesday 16th March, 2021
Time 2:10pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade One
Distance 2m
Prize Pool £175k
Age 5YO+

2021 Arkle Odds

Best Odds
Top Bookie
Shishkin 4/1 BetVictor
Envoi Allen 12/1 Ladbrokes
Chantry House 20/1 William Hill
Captain Guinness 20/1 BetVictor
Abacadabras 25/1 Ladbrokes
Pic D'Orhy 25/1 BetVictor
Klassical Dream 25/1 William Hill
Darver Star 25/1 Ladbrokes
Easywork 25/1 William Hill

2021 Arkle Tips

2020 Supreme Novices' Hurdle winner, Shishkin leads the way in the betting for next season's Arkle. He sits someway clear of his closest challenger, Envoi Allen, with Chantry House, Captain Guinness and Abacadabras making up the top five.

We'll have a range of 2021 Arkle tips live on the website when the new National Hunt season starts.

2020 Arkle Result

1st Put The Kettle On 16/1
2nd Fakir D'Oudairies 3/1
3rd Rouge Vif 9/1
4th Global Citizen 33/1
5th Al Dancer 16/1

Arkle Challenge Trophy Day Card

1:30pm Supreme Novices' Hurdle Grade One 2m
2:10pm Arkle Challenge Trophy Novice's Chase Grade One 2m
2:50pm Ultima Handicap Chase Grade Three Handicap 3m
3:30pm Champion Hurdle Grade One 2m
4:10pm Mares' Hurdle Grade One 2m 4f
4:50pm Boodles Juvenile Handicap Hurdle Grade Three Handicap 2m
5:30pm National Hunt Chase Grade Two 3m 6f

Arkle Challenge Trophy History

The first Grade One for chasers at the Cheltenham Festival is the Arkle Challenge Trophy. Only first-season chasers are allowed to enter the Arkle, and the race is run over a two-mile trip.

This Grade One was first introduced to the Festival schedule in 1946. Great names like Fortria and Flyingbolt won the race during those early years.

The mark his retirement in 1969, the race was named after Arkle. Arguably the greatest jumps horse ever to grace the sport, Arkle won three Cheltenham Gold Cups during his illustrious career, and remains the highest-rated horse in the history of National Hunt racing.

Pendil won the Arkle Challenge Trophy in 1972. The 1978 Arkle was won by Alverton, who went on to win the Gold Cup the following season.

Nicky Henderson won the first of his six Arkle's in 1991, as Remittance Man triumphed under Richard Dunwoody. Many of Nicky Henderson's horses will feature in 2021 Cheltenham Festival tips.

The most successful jockeys in the history of the Arkle Challenge Trophy are Barry Geraghty and Ruby Walsh, who rode six winners apiece between 2002 and 2018.

Many winners of the Arkle go on to run in the Champion Chase. The last horse to achieve that double was Altior, who won the Arkle in 2017, before scoring in the Queen Mother in 2018 and '19.

The 2020 renewal of the Arkle was won by Put The Kettle On, who became the first mare in 30 years to win this historic Group One.

Arkle Challenge Trophy Winners

2020 Put The Kettle On
2019 Duc Des Genievres
2018 Footpad
2017 Altior
2016 Douvan
2015 Un De Sceaux
2014 Western Warhorse
2013 Simonsig
2012 Sprinter Sacre
2011 Captain Chris
2010 Sizing Europe
2009 Forpadydeplasterer
2008 Tidal Bay
2007 My Way De Solzen
2006 Voy Por Ustedes
2005 Contraband
2004 Well Chief
2003 Azertyuiop
2002 Moscow Flyer

Arkle Challenge Trophy FAQs

When is the Arkle?

The 2021 Arkle Challenge Trophy will take place at 2:10pm at the Cheltenham Festival on Tuesday 16th March.

Who was Arkle?

Arkle is regarded as the greatest National Hunt horse of all time. During his illustrious career, Arkle won 15 Grade Ones, including three Cheltenham Gold Cups, and is the highest rated jumps horse ever with Timeform. After his retirement in 1969, the Grade One Novices' Chase on day one of the Cheltenham Festival was named in honour of Arkle.

Who won the Arkle?

In 2020, Put The Kettle On beat Fakir D'Oudairies to become the first mare for 30 years to win the Arkle Challenge Trophy.

Where can I watch the Arkle?

The 2020 Arkle Challenge Trophy will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to watch the race live on your mobile or tablet, check out our Live Streaming page.