2021 Ryanair Chase Tips

The second Grade One on day three at the Cheltenham Festival is the Ryanair Chase. Although the race was only created in 2005, this two-and-a-half-mile chase has grown so much in stature over the last 15 years, that many consider it to be the unofficial fifth Championship race at the meeting.

2021 Ryanair Chase Key Facts

Date Thursday 18th March, 2021
Time 2:50pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade One
Distance 2m 4f
Prize Pool £350k
Age 5YO+

2021 Ryanair Chase Odds

Best Odds
Top Bookie
Samcro10/1Paddy Power
A Plus Tard12/1bet365
Real Steel16/1William Hill
Saint Calvados16/1Unibet

2021 Ryanair Chase Tips

Defending Champion Min currently heads the market for the 2021 Ryanair Chase. He's joined at the head of the market by Samcro, who won his second Cheltenham Festival title in the Marsh Novices' Chase at the 2020 meeting.

We'll have a range of Ryanair Chase tips live on the website when the new National Hunt season starts.

2020 Ryanair Chase Result

1st Min 2/1
2nd Saint Calvados 16/1
3rd A Plus Tard 7/4f
4th Frodon 11/2
5th Duc Des Genievres 18/1

Ryanair Chase Day Card

1:30pm Marsh Novices' Chase Grade One 2m 4f
2:10pm Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Listed Handicap 3m
2:50pm Ryanair Chase Grade One 2m 4f
3:30pm Stayers' Hurdle Grade One 3m
4:10pm Brown Advisory Plate Handicap Chase Grade Three Handicap 2m 4f
4:50pm Mares' Novices' Hurdle Grade Two 2m 1f
5:30pm Kim Muir Handicap Chase Class Two Handicap 3m 2f

Ryanair Chase History

The Ryanair Chase was added to the Cheltenham Festival fairly recently, with the first edition taking place in 2005. This two-and-a-half-mile chase initially held Grade Two status, before being promoted to a Grade One in 2008.

Thanks to a steady increase in prize money from the sponsors, the Ryanair Chase has steadily grown in stature during it's history. So much so, that many now regard the Ryanair as the unofficial fifth Championship race at the Cheltenham Festival.

Imperial Commander won the Ryanair Chase for Nigel Twiston-Davies in 2009, and went on to win the Gold Cup the following season.

2010 and 2011 saw Albertas Run come out on top, and Jonjo O'Neill's popular chaser remains the only two-time winner of the Ryanair.

Gold Cup winner Paul Nicholls' is the winning-most trainer in Ryanair history, with the last of his three winners coming in 2019 when Frodon scored under Bryony Frost.

Ruby Walsh is the most successful jockey, having ridden Nicholls' first two Ryanair winners, before guiding Vautaur and Un De Sceaux to victory in 2016 and 2017.

Colin Tizzard's Cue Card won the Ryanair in 2013. David Pipe and Alan King celebrated victories the following two seasons, with Dynaste and Uxizandre winning in 2014 and '15.

Henry De Bromhead claimed a famous win in 2018 with Balko Des Flos coming out on top. 2020 saw Willie Millins join Paul Nicholls as the top trainer in Ryanair Chase history, as Min came out on top.

Ryanair Chase Winners

2020 Min
2019 Frodon
2018 Balko Des Flos
2017 Un De Sceaux
2016 Vautour
2015 Uxizandre
2014 Dynaste
2013 Cue Card
2012 Riverside Theatre
2011 Albertas Run
2010 Albertas Run
2009 Our Vic
2008 Taranis
2007 Fondmort
2006 Thisthatandtother

Ryanair Chase FAQs

When is the Ryanair Chase?

The 2021 Ryanair Chase will take place at 2:50pm on day three of the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday 18th March.

What is the Ryanair Chase?

The Ryanair Chase is a Group One race staged during the Cheltenham Festival. This race is open to chasers of five-years-old and above, and the trip is 2m 4f.

Who won the Ryanair Chase?

In 2020, Willie Mullins saddled his third winner of the Ryanair Chase, as Min held off Saint Calvados and A Plus Tard to win his first Cheltenham Festival race.

Who's the favourite for the Ryanair?

Defending Champion Min currently heads the market for the 2021 Ryanair Chase. He's joined at the head of the market by Samcro, who won the Marsh Novices' Chase in 2020.

Where can I watch the Ryanair Chase?

The 2021 Ryanair Chase will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to stream the race live on your mobile or tablet then visit our Live Streaming page for more details.