2022 Stayers' Hurdle Tips

The feature championship race on day three of the Cheltenham Festival is the Stayers' Hurdle. This three-mile hurdle is the oldest of the four championship races, having first been run back in 1912, and the illustrious list of previous winners features some of the greatest horses in National Hunt racing history.

2022 Stayers' Hurdle Key Facts

Date Thursday 17th March, 2022
Time 3:05pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade One
Distance 3m
Prize Pool £325k
Age 4YO+

Day 3 Cheltenham Festival Free Bets 2022

BookmakerFree BetOffer / Promo CodeClaim Free Bet
NEW: Bet £30 Get £30Code: NEWBONUS£30 Bonus
Want a FREE £/€5?1x Every DayGet FREE £/€5
Bet £10 Get £40Cheltenham Bonus Bets£40 Bonus
NEW: Bet £10 Get £30Code: NEWBONUS£30 bonus
Bet £10 Get £50Code: NEWBONUS£50 bonus
Bet £10 Get £30back in CASH£30 CASH
up to £40 Money Back+ £10 Casino BonusBet £40

2022 Stayers' Hurdle Odds

Flooring Porter5/1
Thyme Hill10/1
Ronald Pump16/1
Sire Du Berlais16/1
Paisley Park16/1

*Odds taken from Unibet*

2022 Stayers' Hurdle Tips

Our guide to the 2022 Stayers' Hurdle will be published in the weeks leading up to the Cheltenham Festival.

2022 Stayers' Hurdle Runners

Despite starting the season running in a handicap off a mark of just 122, Flooring Porter ended the 2020/21 season with an excellent win in the Stayers' Hurdle. Gavin Cromwell's star sits atop the ante-post betting for the 2022 Stayers', with Unibet quoting a price of 5/1.

Sire Du Berlais and Paisley Park will both be ten when next season's meeting rolls around, but both remain prominent in the betting. Second-favourite is Thyme Hill, who missed the 2021 Cheltenham Festival through injury. As did 2020 runner-up Ronald Pump, who's a 16/1 shot to win in the 2022.

Runaway Albert Bartlett winner, Vanillier is a 20/1 shot, as is former Mares' Hurdle winner Roksana. As are two more winners from the 2021 Cheltenham Festival, Quilixios and Heaven Help Us.

Unibet make Champ a 16/1 shot, just ahead of Beacon Edge and Bob Olinger. Four-year-olds Adagio and Duffle Coat also feature in the ante-post betting, as do Barbados Buck's, Telmesomethinggirl, Fury Road, Gars De Sceaux and Lisnagar Oscar.

2021 Stayers' Hurdle Result

1stFlooring Porter12/1
2nd Sire Du Berlais 5/1
3rd Paisley Park 9/4

Stayers' Hurdle Day Card

1:20pm Marsh Novices' Chase Grade One 2m 4f
1:55pm Pertemps Final Handicap Hurdle Listed Handicap 3m
2:30pm Ryanair Chase Grade One 2m 4f
3:05pm Stayers' Hurdle Grade One 3m
3:40pm Brown Advisory Plate Handicap Chase Grade Three Handicap 2m 4f
4:15pm Mares' Novices' Hurdle Grade Two 2m 1f
4:50pm Kim Muir Handicap Chase Class Two Handicap 3m 2f

Stayers' Hurdle History

The Stayers' Hurdle is the oldest of the four Championship races at the Cheltenham Festival. The Stayers' Hurdle was first staged at Cheltenham in 1912. 

Having been dropped from the rota on a couple of occasions, the Stayers' Hurdle has been a regular during the Festival since 1946, and this three-mile hurdle takes centre-stage in the middle of day three's card.

Silver Bay was the first two-time winner of the Stayers' Hurdle, winning back-to-back renewals in 1913 and '14. 

Brown Lad won the Stayers' Hurdle under Tommy Carberry in 1975. He would go on to win the Irish Grand National three times, and twice finish second in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Galmoy became the second horses to successfully defend his crown in the late 1980s. Legendary trainers like Martin Pipe, Henrietta Knight and David Nicholson saddled Stayers' Hurdle winners in the 1990s.

French raider, Baracouda wowed the crowds at Cheltenham with two fantastic wins in 2002 and '03. François Doumen's star was then defeated two years on the bounce, losing out to Iris's Gift and Inglis Drever in '04 and '05.

Inglis Drever would become the first three-time winner of the Stayers' Hurdle when he collected further wins in 2007 and '08.

His achievement was soon surpassed by Paul Nicholls' Big Bucks. With Ruby Walsh in the saddle, Big Bucks dominated the Stayers' Hurdle between 2009 and 2012, winning the Stayers' Hurdle four times on the bounce.

After Jonjo O'Neill and Warren Greatrex celebrated wins, Colin Tizzard won his first Stayers' Hurdle when Thistlecrack cruised to victory.

Willie Mullins then took over, saddling back-to-back winners in Nichols Canyon and Penhill.

Emma Lavelle's Paisley Park scored a superb victory in the 2019 Stayers' Hurdle. Many expected Paisley Park to retain his crown in 2020, but the favourite produced a limp performance on the day, and his crown was taken by Lisnagar Oscar, who won at 50/1 for Adam Wedge and trainer, Rebecca Curtis.

Gavin Cromwell's Flooring Porter then capped a remarkable season with a brilliant front-running victory in the 2021 Stayers' Hurdle.

Stayers' Hurdle Winners

2021 Flooring Porter
2020 Lisnagar Oscar
2019 Paisley Park
2018 Penhill
2017 Nichols Canyon
2016 Thistlecrack
2015 Cole Harden
2014 More Of That
2013 Solwhit
2012 Big Buck's
2011 Big Buck's
2010 Big Buck's
2009 Big Buck's
2008 Inglis Drever
2007 Inglis Drever
2006 My Way De Solzen
2005 Inglis Drever
2004 Iris's Gift
2003 Baracouda
2002 Baracouda

Stayers' Hurdle FAQs

When is the Stayers' Hurdle?

The 2022 Stayers' Hurdle will take place at 3:05pm on day three of the Cheltenham Festival on Thursday 17th March.

What is the Stayers' Hurdle?

The Stayers' Hurdle is a Group One race staged during the Cheltenham Festival. This historic race is the Championship race on day three of the meeting, and is run over a three-mile trip.

Who won the Stayers' Hurdle?

Gavin Cromwell's Flooring Porter then capped a remarkable season with a brilliant front-running victory in the 2021 Stayers' Hurdle.

Who's the favourite for the Stayers' Hurdle?

2021 winner, Flooring Porter is the early favourite to retain his Stayers' Hurdle crown in 2022.

Where can I watch the Stayers' Hurdle?

The 2022 Stayers' Hurdle will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to stream the race live on your mobile or tablet then visit our Live Streaming page for more details.