Champion Chase Tips 2021

The feature race on Ladies' Day at the Cheltenham Festival is the Champion Chase. The Champion Chase may be the youngest of the four Championship race at Cheltenham, having been created in 1959, but the race boasts a rich history of winners. The Champion Chase is also named in honour of the Queen Mother, who gave so much to the sport of horse racing during her lifetime.

2021 Champion Chase Key Facts

Date Wednesday 17th March, 2021
Time 3:30pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade One
Distance 2m
Prize Pool £400k
Age 5YO+

2021 Champion Chase Odds

Chacun Pour Soi11/8
Nube Negra12/1
Put The Kettle On16/1

*Odds taken from Betfair on 7/1/21*

2021 Champion Chase Tips

Chacun Pour Soi and former two-time winner, Altior were both forced to miss the 2020 Champion Chase, and both are fancied to make up for lost time in 2021. Last year's beaten favourite, Defi Du Seuil sits prominently in the market, along with Henry De Bromhead's duo of A Plus Tard and Put The Kettle On.

We'll have a range of 2021 Champion Chase tips live on the website when the new National Hunt season starts.

2021 Champion Chase Entries

Chacun Pour Soi currently dominated the betting, following a sparkling victory over Christmas. Willie Mullins, who's still searching for his first win in the Champion Chase, also has Cilaos Emery and Cash Back in the mix, along with Min and Tornado Flyer, both of whom are more likely to run in the Ryanair Chase.

Defending Champion, Politologue is one of four entries for Paul Nicholls. Greaneteen, Magic Saint and Duc Des Genievres could all join Politologue in the final field.

Altior feature in the entries, despite his defeat over Christmas. Nube Negra produced a stunning display to beat Altior in the Desert Orchid Chase, and Dan Skelton has handed his stable star a Queen Mother entry.

Defi Du Seuil flopped in the race 12 months ago, but has been given the chance to make amends. Waiting Patiently has been entered here, along with the Ryanair and the Gold Cup.

Notebook has been given an entry by Henry de Bromhead, as has reigning Arkle winner, Put The Kettle On.

Gordon Elliott has both Battleoverdoyen and Samcro in the mix. Joseph O'Brien and Jessica Harrington also account for two entries, with Fakir D'Oudairies and Le Richebourg joining Impact Factor and Sizing Pottsie in the field.

Rouge Vif and Chatham Street Lad have both won big handicaps at Cheltenham this season, and could make an appearance in the feature race on day two of the Cheltenham Festival

Venetia Williams has both Ibleo and Fanion D'Estruval entered up. Other notable entries include First Flow, Janika, Sceau Royal, Espirit Du Large and Simply The Betts.

2020 Champion Chase Result

1st Politologue 6/1
2nd Dynamite Dollars 7/1
3rd Bun Doran 33/1
4th Defi Du Seuil 2/5f
5th Sceau Royal 10/1

Champion Chase Day Card

1:30pm Ballymore Novices' Hurdle Grade One 2m 5f
2:10pm RSA Novices' Chase Grade One 3m
2:50pm Coral Cup Handicap Hurdle Grade Three Handicap 2m 5f
3:30pm Queen Mother Champion Chase Grade One 2m
4:10pm Cross Country Chase Class Two Handicap 3m 6f
4:50pm Grand Annual Handicap Chase Grade Three Handicap 2m
5:30pm Champion Bumper Grade One 2m

Champion Chase History

The Champion Chase is the newest of the four Championship race at the Cheltenham Festival. This Grade One chase takes place on day two of the Cheltenham Festival, and is run over a two-mile trip.

The race was renamed in honour of the Queen Mother during the year of her 80th birthday in 1980. The Queen Mother gave a huge amount of time to the sport of horse racing during her lifetime, and came within a whisker of owning a Champion Chaser when her horse, Game Spirit finished second to Skymas in 1976.

Skymas is one eleven two-time winners of the Champion Chase. That illustrious list includes Fortria, Hilly Way, Viking Flagship, Moscow Flyer, Masterminded, Sprinter Sacre and Altior.

Only one horse has managed to win the Champion Chase three times, and that was Michael Dickinson's Badsworth Boy, who secured a hat-trick of wins between 1983 and '85.

Legendary horses like Flyingbolt, Crisp and One Man have all won the Champion Chase. Many horses use the Arkle Challenge Trophy as a stepping stone to the Champion Chase the following year.

Three trainers have won this Championship race six times. The first being Tom Dreaper, who saddled six of the first 11 winners of this great race.

Nicky Henderson and Paul Nicholls both have six wins apiece. The great friends and rivals have shared nine of the last 13 runnings between them.

There was barely a dry eye in the house on Ladies' Day in 2016, when ten-year-old Sprinter Sacre rolled back the years and won his second Champion Chase, three years after his first win in 2013.

Gary Moore celebrated a famous win when Sire De Grugy became Champion chaser in 2014. Henry De Bromhead has won the race twice, first with Sizing Europe in 2011, before Special Tiara scored a surprise win in  2016.

Altior won back-to-back Champion Chases in 2018 and '19. With Nicky Henderson's star out injured, Paul Nicholls got back in on the act, as Harry Skelton guided Politologue to victory.

Champion Chase Winners

2020 Politologue
2019 Altior
2018 Altior
2017 Special Tiara
2016 Sprinter Sacre
2015 Dodging Bullets
2014 Sire De Grugy
2013 Sprinter Sacre
2012 Finian's Rainbow
2011 Sizing Europe
2010 Big Zeb
2009 Master Minded
2008 Master Minded
2007 Voy Por Ustedes
2006 Newmill
2005 Moscow Flyer
2004 Azertyuiop
2003 Moscow Flyer
2002 Flagship Uberalles

Champion Chase FAQs

When is the Champion Chase?

The 2021 Champion Chase will take place at 3:30pm on day two of the Cheltenham Festival on Wednesday 17th March.

What is the Champion Chase?

The Champion Chase is the feature Championship race on day two of the Cheltenham Festival. This prestigious Grade One is for chasers and is run over a two-mile trip. The Champion Chase has been won by many of the sports greatest, and is named in honour of the Queen Mother.

Who won the Champion Chase?

Politologue caused a minor upset in 2020, making all under Harry Skelton to score an emphatic victory in the Queen Mother Champion Chase.

Who's the favourite for the Champion Chase?

Chacun Pour Soi is the ante-post favourite for the 2021 Champion Chase. Two-time winner  Altior sits just behind, along with Defi Du Seuil, Put The Kettle On and A Plus Tard.

Where can I watch the Champion Chase?

The 2021 Champion Chase will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to stream the race live on your mobile or tablet then visit our Live Streaming page for more details.