91 Showlhs N

2024 King George VI Chase Betting Tips, Odds & Predictions

The feature race during Kempton's Christmas Festival is the King George VI Chase. The King George is the second leg of chasing's Triple Crown, which also features the Betfair Chase and the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Many of the sports greatest names have won this historic Grade One at Kempton Park, and this year's renewal of the King George is sure to be as thrilling as ever.

King George VI Chase Odds

We'll published the odds for the King George VI Chase when the betting has been released.

King George VI Chase Tips

Our full preview of the King George VI Chase will be published in the days leading up to this year's race.

2022 King George VI Chase Result

2ndRoyale Pagaille12/1

King George VI Chase Card

12:50pmNovices' Hurdle (Class 2) 2m
1:20pmNovices' Handicap Chase (Class 3) 2m4f
1:55pmKauto Star Novices' Chase (Grade 1) 3m
2:30pmChristmas Hurdle (Grade 1) 2m
3:05pmKing George VI Chase (Grade 1) 3m
3:40pmHandicap Hurdle (Class 3) 2m5f

King George VI Chase History

The first King George VI Chase was first run at Kempton Park in February 1937. Only two runnings of this Grade One chase came before the end of the second World War, as Kempton Park racecourse was used as a prisoner of war camp during that time.

When the King George returned in 1947, the race was moved to Boxing Day, in order to attract a larger crowd. Reigning Gold Cup winner, Cottage Rake won the King George in 1948, and went on to claim a hat-trick of wins in the main event at the Cheltenham Festival.

Bill Wightman's Halloween and Mandarin, trained by Fulke Walwyn, both won the King George VI Chase twice during the 1950s. In 1965, the red carpet was rolled out for Arkle, and Pat Taaffe's superstar secured a superb 30-length victory, after going off as the 1/7 favourite.

Pendil, Captain Christy and Silver Buck claimed back-to-back King George wins in the 1970s. Wayward Lad won his first King George in 1982, and went on to become the first three-time winner of Kempton's main event.

Wayward Lad's record didn't stand for long, as fan's favourite Desert Orchid won the King George four times between 1986 and 1990. 

One Man won the King George VI Chase twice, and would later drop back to two miles and win the Champion Chase in 1998. See More Business won the King George in 1997 and '99, while also winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup in between.

Three-time Gold Cup winner, Best Mate won his only King George in 2002. Kicking King came over from Ireland to win the King George VI Chase in 2004 and '05.

Kauto Star dominated the late noughties, winning the King George on five occasions. Long Run defeated an under par Kauto Star in 2011, and went on to beat both Kauto and Denman in the Cheltenham Gold Cup that season. Kauto Star would gain his revenge at Kempton the following season, becoming just the fourth horse older than ten to win the King George.

Kauto Star's trainer, Paul Nicholls is the most successful trainer in King George history. Nicholls also won back-to-back King George's with Silviniaco Conti in 2013 and '14.

Cue Card, Thistlecrack and Might Bite briefly interrupted Nicholls' success. Harry Cobden then rode Nicholls' Clan Des Obeaux to victory in the 2018 King George, before successfully defending their crown in 2019, handing Nicholls' his 11th win in this famous Grade One.

Paul Nicholls celebrated his eleventh victory in the King George in 2020, as Bryony Frost made all to win on Frodon, holding off Waiting Patiently and defending champion, Clan Des Obeaux.

In 2022, Tornado Flyer became the second 28/1 shot in a row to win the King George, as Willie Mullins' raider comfortably beat Paul Nicholls' duo of Clan Des Obeaux and Saint Calvados.

King George Winners

2022 Bravemansgame
2021 Tornado Flyer
2020 Frodon
2019 Clan Des Obeaux
2018 Clan Des Obeaux
2017 Might Bite
2016 Thistlecrack
2015 Cue Card
2014 Silviniaco Conti
2013 Silviniaco Conti
2012 Long Run
2011 Kauto Star
2010 Long Run
2009 Kauto Star
2008 Kauto Star
2007 Kauto Star
2006 Kicking King
2005 Kicking King
2004 Edredon Bleu
2003 Best Mate
2002 Florida Pearl

Kauto Star winning his fifth King George in 2011