7152 Showlhs N

2023 Irish Gold Cup Tips, Odds and Predictions

Sunday's at the Dublin Racing Festival features four top-level races. The Grade One feature is undoubtedly the Irish Gold Cup, a staying chase which has been won by legends like Jodami, Florida Pearl, Beef or Salmon and Carlingford Lough.

2023 Irish Gold Cup Odds

Galopin Des Champs4/11
Fury Road12/1
Envoi Allen12/1

*Odds taken on 24/1/23*

2023 Irish Gold Cup Tips

Once the final field has been confirmed, we'll publish our guide to the 2023 Irish Gold Cup.

2022 Irish Gold Cup Result

2ndMinella Indo11/2

2023 Irish Gold Cup Entries

Galopin Des Champs' road to the Cheltenham Gold Cup started at Punchestown, where Willie Mullins' star thrashed Fakir D'Oudairies in the John Durkan Memorial Chase. The favourite settled nicely under Paul Townend that day and looked more than ready for the step up to three miles. 4/11 seems like a fair enough price.

Willie Mullins has also entered up Stattler, who was narrowly beaten by Minella Indo on his return to action at Thurles on New Year's Day. Former winner, Kemboy could also run for Ireland's Champion Trainer, along with Cheltenham Gold Cup entrants Franco De Port and Royal Rendezvous.

Conflated could return to defend his crown, having collected his second Grade One victory in the Savills Chase here over Christmas. Fury Road is another possible runner for Gordon Elliott, with Envoi Allen likely to represent Henry De Bromhead and Cheveley Park.

Grand National bound Any Second Now and The Big Dog round off the entries for the main event on day one of the Dublin Racing Festival.

Irish Gold Cup Day Card

12:55pm Mares' Handicap Hurdle (Grade B) 2m2f
1:25pm Spring Juvenile Hurdle (Grade 1) 2m
1:55pm Chanelle Pharma Novices' Hurdle (Grade 1) 2m
2:30pm William Fry Handicap Hurdle (Grade B) 3m
3:00pm Flogas Novice Chase (Grade 1) 2m5f
3:30pm Paddy Power Irish Gold Cup (Grade 1) 3m
4:00pm Leopardstown Handicap Chase (Grade A) 2m5f
4:35pm Mare's Flat Race (Grade 2) 2m

Irish Gold Cup History

The Irish Gold Cup was created in 1987, and originally the race was dedicated to Vincent O'Brien.

A couple of British trainers enjoyed early success in the Irish Gold Cup. Paul Nicholls rode Playschool to victory for David Barons, before Martin Pipe's Carvill's Hill scored four years later in 1992.

Peter Beaumont's Jodami then won the Irish Gold Cup for the first time in 1993. Jodami would complete a hat-trick during the two subsequent seasons, while also winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup in 1993.

After wins for Dorans Pride and Danoli, Florida Pearl emulated Jodami by winning the Irish Gold Cup three years on the bounce between 1999 and 2001. Willie Mullins' star would then win a fourth Irish Gold Cup as a 12-year-old in 2004.

Beef or Salmon, who's regarded by many as the best chaser never to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup, won the first of his three Irish Gold Cups in 2003. Michael Hourigan's star would later secure back-to-back wins in 2006 and '07.

Carlingford Lough won the Irish Gold Cup twice in 2015 and '16. Jessica Harrington's Sizing John triumphed at Leopardstown in 2017, before following up at the Cheltenham Festival.

Edwulf then secured a stunning victory in 2018, having been brought out of retirement just months earlier. Bellshill then won a four-runner event in 2019, before Delta Work saw off Kemboy and Presenting Percy to hand Gordon Elliott his first Irish Gold Cup win.

Irish Gold Cup Winners

2023 Galopin Des Champs
2022 Conflated
2021 Kemboy
2020 Delta Work
2019 Bellshill
2018 Edwulf
2017 Sizing John
2016 Carlingford Lough
2015 Carlingford Lough
2014 Last Installment
2013 Sire Des Champs
2012 Quel Esprit
2011 Kempes
2010 Joncol
2009 Neptune Collonges
2008 The Listener
2007 Beef Or Salmon
2006 Beef Or Salmon
2005 Rule Supreme
2004 Florida Pearl
2003 Beef Or Salmon
2002 Alexander Banquet
2001 Florida Pearl
2002 Florida Pearl