7152 Showlhs N

2023 Irish Champions Stakes Tips, Odds, News and Special Offers

The highlight on day one of Irish Champions Weekend is the Irish Champion Stakes. 

This Group One is one of the most prestigious in all of Irish Flat racing. Run over 1m 2f, some of the best horses in the world have won the Irish Champion Stakes, and claimed the highly-lucrative first prize.

A top-quality field will line up in this year's Irish Champion Stakes, and it's sure to make for compelling viewing.

Irish Champions Stakes Key Facts

Date Saturday, 9th September, 2023
Course Leopardstown
Status Group One
Distance 1m2f
Race Type Set Weights
First Prize € 427,500
Age 3YO+

2023 Irish Champions Stakes Odds

Look to the top of this page to find the latest Irish Champions Stakes betting.

2023 Irish Champions Stakes Tips

Once the field has been finalised we'll publish our tips for the Irish Champion Stakes.

Irish Champions Stakes Result

1st Luxembourg 7/2
2nd Onesto 11/1
3rd Vadeni 7/4f

Irish Champions Stakes Day Card

1:55pm Leopardstown Ingabelle Stakes (Listed) 7f
2:30pm Leopardstown Petingo Handicap (Premier Handicap) 1m5f
3:05pm Leopardstown Champions Juvenile Stakes (Group 2) 1m
3:40pm Leopardstown Paddy Power Stakes (Group 3) 1m4f
4:15pm Leopardstown QIPCO Irish Champion Stakes (Group 1) 1m2f
4:50pm Leopardstown Boomerang Stakes (Group 2) 1m
5:25pm Leopardstown Matron Stakes (Group 1) 1m
6:00pm Leopardstown Sovereign Path Handicap (Premier Handicap) 7f

Irish Champions Stakes History

The Irish Champion Stakes is one of the most prestigious flat races in Irish Racing. The race is open to three-year-olds and above, and a trip of one-and-a-quarter-miles will have to be completed.

The Irish Champion Stakes was first run at Leopardstown in 1986. It's a Group One race sponsored by QIPCO and is part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge Series, with the winner guaranteeing them a place in the Breeders' Cup Turf later in November.

Winners of the Irish Champion Stakes often go on to run in the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe - Europe's most prestigious flat race. The first horse to win both races in the same season was Carroll House, who scored at Leopardstown and Longchamp under Mick Kinane in 1989.

Dylan Thomas is the only horse to win the Irish Champion Stakes twice, successfully retaining his crown in 2007. Aidan O'Brien's star also won the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe later than autumn.

Three other legends of the game managed to win the Irish Champion Stakes and the Arc in the same season. Suave Dancer managed it in 1991. Sea The Stars landed the double in 2009, six years before Golden Horn won both races under Frankie Dettori.

Although the race is staged in Ireland, British trainers have enjoyed plenty of success in this Group One. Henry Cecil, Sir Michael Stoute, Ed Dunlop and Kevin Ryan have all saddled winners of the Irish Champion Stakes. 

Roger Charlton's first victory came in 2017, when five-year-old Decorated Knight defeated his Irish rivals. John Gosden then celebrated his third win the following year, as Roaring Lion defeated Saxon Warrior in stunning fashion.

Aidan O'Brien is the most successful trainer in the history of the Irish Champion Stakes. Aidan's first winner came in 2000 when Giants Causeway won. His eighth and most recent triumph came in 2020, when top-mare Magical headed a 1-2-3 for Ballydoyle.

Ghaiyyath travelled to Leopardstown as the odds-on favourite in 2020, but it was Magical who prevailed once again, retaining her crown with another superb performance.

Irish Champions Stakes Winners

2022 Luxembourg
2021 St Mark's Basillica
2020 Magical
2019 Magical
2018 Roaring Lion
2017 Decorated Knight
2016 Almanzor
2015 Golden Horn
2014 The Grey Gatsby
2013 The Fugue
2012 Snow Fairy
2011 So You Think
2010 Cape Blanco
2009 Sea The Stars
2008 New Approach
2007 Dylan Thomas
2006 Dylan Thomas
2005 Oratorio
2004 Azamour
2003 High Chaparral
2002 Grandera