2021 Irish Oaks Tips, News and Predictions

The fourth Classic of the Irish flat racing season takes place at the Curragh in July, as some of the best fillies in the sport do battle in the Irish Oaks.

First staged in 1895, only three-year-old fillies are allowed to run in the Irish Oaks, and this Classic has been won by great names like Dahlia, Blue Wind and Enable.

2021 Irish Oaks Odds

No odds are currently available for the 2021 Irish Oaks.

2021 Irish Oaks Tips

Once the field has been confirmed and the betting has opened, we'll publish our guide to the 2021 Irish Oaks.

2020 Irish Oaks Result

1st Even So 10/1
2nd Cayenne Pepper 2/1f
3rd Passion 6/1

Irish Oaks Day Card

1 Maiden Stakes
2 Curragh Cup (Group 2)
3 Equine Products Handicap
4 Minstrel Stakes (Group 2)
5 Scurry Handicap
6 Railway Stakes (Group 2)
7 Irish Oaks (Group 1)
8 Ladies Derby Handicap

Irish Oaks History

The Irish Oaks was first staged at the Curragh in 1895, 120 years after the Epsom Oaks was first run in Britain. Originally, the Irish Oaks was run over a mile, and the trip wasn't upped to a mile-and-a-half until 1915.

As there's well over a month between the British and Irish Oaks, fillies often run in both races. The first to achieve that famous double was Masaka in 1948, carrying the colours of the Aga Khan.

In 1973, Maurice Zilber's star Dahlia won the Irish Oaks before going on to score in the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Ascot a few weeks later.

Sir Michael Stoute travelled over from England to win the Irish Oaks for the first time in 1978. Stoute has lifted the trophy six times in today, the most of any trainer, with the last of his victories coming in 2000 with Petrushka.

Vincent O'Brien's only win in the Irish Oaks came with Godetia in 1979. His son, Aidan O'Brien has been much more successful, winning the Irish Oaks five times with top fillies like Peeping Fawn and Seventh Heaven.

Johnny Murtagh rode two of Aidan O'Brien's five winners. Murtagh has also ridden winners for John Oxx, Sir Michael Stoute and Alain de Royer-Dupre, with his tally of six winners the most by any rider.

British trainers have enjoyed plenty of success in the more recent history of the Irish Oaks. John Gosden has won the race three times since 2012, scoring with Great Heavens, Star Catcher and the great Enable.

Hugo Palmer, Ed Dunlop and Michael Bell has all celebrated Irish Oaks wins. William Haggas won this Classic in 2018 with Sea Of Class.

Jessica Harrington's Cayenne Pepper was favourite to win the Irish Oaks in 2020, but she was beaten by Even So, who handed Ger Lyons his second Classic win as a trainer. 

Irish Oaks Winners

2020 Even So
2019 Star Catcher
2018 Sea Of Class
2017 Enable
2016 Seventh Heaven
2015 Covert Love
2014 Bracelet
2013 Chicquita
2012 Great Heavens
2011 Blue Bunting
2010 Snow Fairy
2009 Sariska
2008 Moonstone
2007 Peeping Fawn
2006 Alexandrova
2005 Shawanda
2004 Ouija Board
2003 Vintage Tipple
2002 Margarula
2001 Lailani