5524 Showlhs N

2024 Triumph Hurdle Tips, Odds and News

The opening race on the fourth and final day of the Cheltenham Festival is the Triumph Hurdle. This two-mile Grade One hurdle is open only to juvenile horses, and many four-year-olds have begun illustrious careers with victory in this valuable race.

Triumph Hurdle Key Facts

Date Friday 15th March, 2024
Time 1:30pm
Course Cheltenham Festival
Status Grade One
Distance 2m
Prize Pool £125k
Age 4YO

Day 4 Cheltenham Gold Cup Free Bets 2024

BookmakerFree BetOffer / Promo CodeClaim Free Bet
€20 No Deposit & €70 Bundle (IRELAND ONLY)Code: BET10GET70€20 No Deposit
Bet £10 Get £30Code: NEWBONUS£30 bonus
Get £40 Money Back+ £10 Casino Bonus£40 + £10

Triumph Hurdle Odds

Triumph Hurdle Tips

Our guide to the Triumph will be published in the weeks leading up to the Cheltenham Festival.

Triumph Hurdle Result

1st Lossiemouth 11/8f
2nd Gala Marceau 10/3
3rd Zenta 12/1

Triumph Hurdle Day Card

1:30pm Triumph Hurdle Grade One 2m
2:10pm County Hurdle Grade Three Handicap 2m
2:50pm Albert Bartlett Novices' Hurdle Grade One 3m
3:30pm Gold Cup Grade One 3m 2f
4:10pm Foxhunter Chase Class Two 3m 2f
4:50pm Mares' Chase Grade Two 2m 4f
5:30pm Martin Pipe Handicap Hurdle Class Two Handicap 2m 4f

Triumph Hurdle History

The opener on Gold Cup day at the Cheltenham Festival is the Triumph Hurdle. This Grade One hurdle was first staged in 1939, and moved to the Cheltenham Festival in 1965.

The Triumph Hurdle is open only two juveniles, and is run over a two-mile trip.

Many excellent horses have capped their first season over obstacles by winning the Triumph Hurdle. Clair Soleil won the Triumph in 1953, before going on to score in the Champion Hurdle.

Three horses have followed in those footsteps and landed the Triumph, Champion Hurdle double. Persian War won the Triumph in 1967, and went on to claim a hat-trick of wins in Tuesday's Championship race between 1968 and 1970.

Sir Michael Stoute's Kribensis won the 1988 Triumph Hurdle, before going on to score in the Champion Hurdle. The last to achieve this double was Katchit, who won the Triumph in 2007, and the Champion Hurdle the following season.

Many Triumph Hurdle winners go on to achieve great things over fences too. Commanche Court won the Triumph in 1997. He would go on to win the Punchestown Gold Cup and the Irish Grand National, while also finishing second to Best Mate in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Cheltenham legend Tiger Roll won the first of his four Festival titles in the 2014 Triumph Hurdle. Defi Du Seuil won the Triumph in 2017, before winning the Marsh Novices' Chase two years later.

Nicky Henderson is the most successful trainer in the history of the Triumph Hurdle. First Bout was Henderson's first Triumph winner in 1985, with the last of his seven wins coming in 2019, as Pentland Hills claimed a shock win.

In 2020, it seemed like Gary Moore was going to celebrate his first Triumph winner as Goshen strode clear. In a shocking turn of events, the leader fell at the final flight, allowing Burning Victory to come through and claim a shock win for Willie Mullins.

Henry De Bromhead won his first Triumph Hurdle in 2021, as Quilixios beat Adagio under Rachael Blackmore.

Triumph Hurdle Winners

2023 Lossiemouth
2022 Vauban
2021 Quilixios
2020 Burning Victory
2019 Pentland Hills
2018 Farclas
2017 Defi Du Seuil
2016 Ivanovich Gorbatov
2015 Peace And Co
2014 Tiger Roll
2013 Our Conor
2012 Countywide Flame
2011 Zarkandar
2010 Soldatino
2009 Zaynar
2008 Celestial Halo
2007 Katchit
2006 Detroit City
2005 Penzance
2004 Made In Japan
2003 Spectroscope
2002 Scolardy

Triumph Hurdle FAQs

When is the Triumph Hurdle?

The 2024 Triumph Hurdle will take place at 1:30pm on day four of the Cheltenham Festival on Friday 15th March.

What is the Triumph Hurdle?

The Triumph Hurdle is a Grade One race staged during the Cheltenham Festival. The Triumph is open only to juvenile horses, and it's run over a two-mile trip.

Who won the Triumph Hurdle?

Willie Mullins' saddled the first five home in the 2023 Triumph Hurdle, with favourite Lossiemouth coming out on top.

Where can I watch the Triumph Hurdle?

The 2024 Triumph Hurdle will be shown live on ITV Racing. If you want to stream the race live on your mobile or tablet then visit our Live Streaming page for more details.