7776 Showlhs N

2023 Prix de l'Arc De Triomphe Tips, Odds and News

The Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe is one of the most famous races in the world of flat racing. Many of the world's best middle-distance horses will travel to Paris-Longchamp racecourse on the first Sunday in October to try and win the Arc, while also claiming the lion's share of the massive prize pot.

The Arc is the most lucrative race in European flat racing, and it's been won by greats like Corrida, Mill Reef, Alleged, Treve and Enable during it's 100-year history.

Trainers from France, Britain, Ireland and other parts of the world will target their best horses at the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe, and this year's renewal promises to be as exciting as ever.

Prix de l'Arc De Triomphe Key Facts

DateSunday 1st October, 2023
StatusGroup One
First Prize£2.8m

2023 Prix de l'Arc De Triomphe Odds

You can find the latest odds for the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe in an article at the top of this page.

2023 Prix de l'Arc De Triomphe Tips

We'll publish our guide to the Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe when the field has been finalised.

2022 Prix de l'Arc De Triomphe Result


1st Alpinista 33/10f
2nd Vadeni7/1
3rd Torquator Tasso 8/1

Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe Day Card

Race Number
1 Marcel Boussac
2 Grand Criterium
3 Arabian World Cup
4 Prix de I'Arc de Triomphe
5 L'Opera Longines
6 Prix De L'Abbaye De Longchamp
7 Prix De La Foret

Prix de l'Arc De Triomphe History

One of the richest races in the world and one of the most prestigious, the Prix de I'Arc de Triomphe is a global celebration of the world's best thoroughbreds. 

Its origins go back to 1863 when a governing body wanted a feature race that was open to thoroughbreds from around the world.  

The Prix du Conseil Municipal was introduced and the name would later be changed in in the wake of World War I, to honour the allies in 1919.

The first official Prix de I'Arc de Triomphe was run on October 3, 1920 and was taken out by Comrade. 

Having been funded by the National Lottery, the Prix de I'Arc de Triomphe was then able to secure big sponsors and in 2008 the prize fund was doubled when Qatar Racing became primary sponsor. 

Normally run at Longchamp, the 2016 and 2017 editions were held at Chantilly due to renovations. Found and Enable were the two victors at Chantilly. 

The Prix de I'Arc de Triomphe has been won by many champion thoroughbreds, trainers and jockeys. Names such as Treve, Enable, Danedream,  Montjeu and Alleged are all previous winners of the race. 

Leading French trainer Andre Fabre has scored seven wins in the Prix de I'Arc de Triomphe, his latest coming with Rail Link in 2006. 

Frankie Dettori has ridden five winners, which started with Lammtarra in 1995 and his most recent win came aboard Enable in 2017. 

The Prix de I'Arc de Triomphe has been dominated by three and four-year-olds. There has been only one five-year-old winner since 1988. 

Having successfully defended her crown in 2018, Enable returned to Longchamp to try and claim a hat-trick of victories last year. Sadly, history was not made in 2019, as Enable was pipped to the post by Andre Fabre's Waldgeist.

Enable second attempt at becoming the first three-time winner failed too, as Sottsass held off In Swoop to win the 2020 Prix de l'Arc de Triomphe. There was an almighty shock in the 2021 Arc, as the outsider of the field, Torquator Tasso claimed a famous victory for Germany, having gone off at 72/1.

Prix de l'Arc De Triomphe Winners

2022 Alpinista
2021 Torquator Tasso
2020 Sottsass
2019 Waldgeist
2018 Enable
2017 Enable
2016 Found
2015 Golden Horn
2013 Treve
2012 Treve
2011 Solemia
2010 Danedream
2009 Workforce
2008 Zarkava
2007 Dylan Thomas
2006 Rail Link
2005 Hurricane Run
2004 Bago
2003 Dalakhani
2002 Marienbard
2001 Sakhee
2000 Sinndar
1999 Montjeu
1998 Sagamix
1997 Peintre Celebre
1996 Helissio
1995 Lammtarra
1994 Carnegie
1993 Urban Sea
1992 Subotica
1991 Suave Dancer
1990 Saumarez
1989 Carroll House
1988 Tony Bin