2022 Diamond Jubilee Stakes Tips & Predictions

The final Group One race of Royal Ascot is the Diamond Jubilee Stakes. This historic race is open to four-year-olds and older, and is run over a trip of six furlongs.

The Diamond Jubilee Stakes has been one of the premier sprint races on the British flat racing calendar since 1868, with great sprinters like Diadem, Prince Charlie and Black Caviar winning during its history.

Diamond Jubilee Stakes Key Facts

DateSaturday June 18, 2022
TrackRoyal Ascot
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money£600,000

2022 Diamond Jubilee Stakes Odds

No odds are available for the 2022 Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

2022 Diamond Jubilee Stakes Tips

Once the field has been finalised, we'll publish our guide to the 2022 Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

2021 Diamond Jubilee Stakes Result

1stDream Of Dreams7/2f
2ndGlen Shiel7/1
3rdArt Power4/1

Diamond Jubilee Stakes History

The Diamond Jubilee Stakes was first run in 1868 and listed as the All-Aged Stakes, but the Diamond Jubilee Stakes has been in existence since 1971.

It was run at Group 2 and Group 3 level, but is now Group 1 status and run during the popular Royal Ascot festival.

In 2005 it was added to the Global Sprint Challenge, which features sprint races from all around the world, including the Hong Kong Sprint.

Jockey Lester Piggott, who recorded 10 wins throughout his lengthy career, dominated the Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

Piggott's first win came in 1958 with Right Boy and his final win came in 1993 with College Chapel.

Tom Queally rode Art Connoisseur in 2009 and The Tin Man in 2017 and record a winning double in the featured sprint.

Australian sprinter Black Caviar won in 2012 as the hot favourite and many Australian punters would have a hard time reliving what jockey Luke Nolan put them through.

Nolen eased up on the line aboard Black Caviar, not knowing how much the run took out of the sprinting champion. Nolen's tactics were later applauded as Black Caviar was found to have pulled up with a serious suspensory injury.

The Diamond Jubilee isn't dominated by the breeding stables which makes it more appealing to the every day punter.

Popular sprinters like Lethal Force, Slade Power and The Tin Man have all won the Diamond Jubilee Stakes. Aidan O'Brien won for the second time with Merchant Navy in 2018.

Four days after successfully defending his King's Stand Stakes crown, Blue Point clung on to complete a famous double in the 2019 Diamond Jubilee Stakes, after which he was retired to stud.

The 2020 Diamond Jubilee Stakes went the way of Kevin Ryan, as Hello Youmzain handed young jockey Kevin Stott his first Royal Ascot win.

Diamond Jubilee Stakes Betting Guide

Upset results aren't common in the Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

The Tin Man paid $7 when winning in 2017 and two well-favoured runners finished in the placings.

The Tin Man had finished eighth in the 2016 Diamond Jubilee Stakes which was taken out by $5 chance Twilight Son.

In behind Twilight Son was Gold-Fun and 2015 winner Undrafted, which caused a minor upset when winning at 10/1.

Australian miler Brazen Beau finished second and it didn't impress in the July Cup a month later.

Slade Power was a popular pick when winning in 2014 at odds of $4.50. The Edward Lynam-trained star defeated a quality field before embarking on an international career.

Bookmakers often frame a competitive market for the Diamond Jubilee Stakes.

Diamond Jubilee Stakes Lead-Up Races

The Lightning Stakes at Flemington is a major lead-up race for the Australian thoroughbreds.

Black Caviar won the Lightning Stakes, which is now named in honour of the mighty mare, before winning at Royal Ascot.

Al Quoz Sprint form can be a good guide for the globetrotting types and the King's Stand Stakes is a good form guide for the European-trained runners.

The Chairman's Sprint Prize is a good form guide for the Hong Kong horses, but they rarely travel internationally at this distance.

Diamond Jubilee Stakes Winners

Race Winner
2021Dream Of Dreams
2020Hello Youmzain
2019Blue Point
2018Merchant Navy
2017The Tin Man
2016Twilight Son
2014Slade Power
2013Lethal Force
2012Black Caviar
2011Society Rock
2009Art Connoisseur
2008Kingsgate Native
2007Soldier's Tale
2006Les Arcs
2005Cape Of Good Hope
2004Fayr Jag
2001Harmonic Way
2000Superior Platinum
1999Bold Edge
1997Royal Applause
1995So Factual
1993College Chapel
1991Polish Patriot
1990Great Commotion