2022 Irish 2000 Guineas Tips, Odds, News and Predictions

The first Classic race to be staged during the Irish flat racing season is the Irish 2000 Guineas. This historic Classic takes place at the end of May, on day two of the Irish Guineas Festival.

Many of Ireland's and England's finest colts have won the Irish 2000 Guineas during their three-year-old campaigns. Legends like Grundy, Dubawi, Mastercraftsman and Kingman all landed this famous Classic.

Irish 2000 Guineas Key Facts

Date Saturday 21st May, 2022
Track Curragh
Distance 1m
Age 3YO
Sex Colts Only
Status Group One (Classic)
First Prize € 285,000

2022 Irish 2000 Guineas Odds

No odds are available yet...

2022 Irish 2000 Guineas Tips

Our full guide to the 2022 Irish 2000 Guineas will be published in the days leading up to the race. The full preview can be found on our website.

2021 Irish 2000 Guineas Result

1stMac Swiney8/1
2ndPoetic Flare5/1
3rdVan Gogh9/1

Irish 2000 Guineas Day Card

1:45pm Irish EBF Maiden 6f
2:15pm Marble Hill Stakes (Group 3) 6f
2:45pm Greenland Stakes (Group 2) 6f
3:20pm Irish 2000 Guineas (Group 1) 1m
3:55pm Lanwades Stud Stakes (Group 2) 1m
4:25pm  Fillies' Premier Handicap 1m
5:00pm  Betway Premier Handicap 5f
5:30pm Betway Handicap 7f

Irish 2000 Guineas History

The Irish version of the 20000 Guineas was first staged at the Curragh in 1921, over a century after the British 2000 Guineas took place at Newmarket.

Organisers made sure the dates for the British and Irish 2000 Guineas didn't clash, to ensure that the best colts in Britain and Ireland could compete in both races.

Right Track was the first colt to achieve the British and Irish 2000 Guineas double in 1969. Since then, many excellent colts have completed that Classic double. The most recent winner was Aidan O'Brien's Churchill, who won both Classics in 2017.

Aidan O'Brien is the most successful trainer in the history of the Irish 2000 Guineas. Aidan's father, Vincent O'Brien managed just four winners in his career. Aidan has saddled eleven winners since Desert King handed O'Brien his first victory back in 1997.

Two jockey's managed to ride the winner of the Irish 2000 Guineas on five occasions. Tommy Burns Senior rode five winners between 1921 and 1948, with Martin Quirke matching that tally between the years of 1929 and 1941.

Legendary Irish trainers like Stephen Quirke, Paddy Prendergast and Dermot Weld have won the Irish 2000 Guineas. Top names from British flat racing, like John Dunlop, Sir Michael Stoute, Richard Hannon and John Gosden have also saddled winners of this Curragh Classic.

Ken Condon and Ger Lyon's celebrated their first Classic wins as trainers when Romanised and Siskin claimed Irish 2000 Guineas glory in 2018 and 2020 respectively. In 2021, Jim Bolger saddled his first winner of this Classic, when Mac Swiney held on to claim victory.

Irish 2000 Guineas Winners

2021 Mac Swiney
2020 Siskin
2019 Phoenix Of Spain
2018 Romanised
2017 Churchill
2016 Awtaad
2015 Gleneagles
2014 Kingman
2013 Magician
2012 Power
2011 Roderic O'Connor
2010 Canford Cliffs
2009 Mastercraftsman
2008 Henrythenavigator
2007 Cockney Rebel
2006 Araafa
2005 Dubawi
2004 Bachelor Duke
2003 Indian Haven
2002 Rock Of Gibraltar
2001 Black Minnaloushe
2000 Bachir