7152 Showlhs N

2024 Irish 1000 Guineas Tips, Odds, News and Predictions

The day after the colts battle it out for Classic glory at the Curragh, fillies fight it out in the Irish 1000 Guineas. This historic Classic takes place at the end of May, on day three of the Irish Guineas Festival.

Many of Ireland's and England's finest fillies have won the Irish 1000 Guineas during their three-year-old campaigns. Great names like Attraction, Sky Lantern and Minding feature on the roll of honour for this famous Classic.

Irish 1000 Guineas Key Facts

Date Sunday 26th May, 2024
Track Curragh
Distance 1m
Age 3YO
Sex Fillies Only
Status Group One (Classic)
First Prize € 285,000

Irish 1000 Guineas Odds

No odds are available yet...

Irish 1000 Guineas Tips

Our full guide to the Irish 1000 Guineas will be published in the lead up to the race. The full preview can be found on our website.

2023 Irish 1000 Guineas Result


Irish 1000 Guineas Day Card

1:30pm Fillies Maiden 6f
2:05pm William Hill Handicap 1m
2:40pm Tattersalls Gold Cup (Group 1) 1m2f
3:15pm Irish 1000 Guineas (Group 1) 1m
3:50pm William Hill Premier Handicap 1m2f
4:20pm Habitat Premier Handicap 1m
4:55pm Irish EBF Maiden 1m2f
5:30pm William Hill Handicap 2m

Irish 1000 Guineas History

Over a century after the 1000 Guineas was first played out at Newmarket, the Irish 1000 Guineas was created. This Classic was first held at the Curragh in 1922, the year after the Irish 2000 Guineas was run for the first time.

The Irish 1000 Guineas takes place three weeks after the British 1000 Guineas, enabling fillies to run in both races. Only a handful of fillies have managed to win both races, the most recent 1000 Guineas double winner was Hermosa, who won both Classics in 2019.

Like the 2000 Guineas, Aidan O'Brien is the most successful trainer in the history of the Irish 1000 Guineas. Since his first winner in 1997, O'Brien has won this Classic ten times, with Princess Josephine handing him his most recent victory in 2021.

Legendary jockey, Morny Wing is the most successful rider in this Classic's history. Wing rode 1922 winner Lady Violette, before claiming his seventh victory on Sea Symphony 25 years later.

Paddy and Kevin Prendergast, Dermot Weld, John Oxx and Jim Bolger are amongst the famous Irish trainers to have saddled the Irish 1000 Guineas winner. British trainers have also tasted plenty of success in this Classic, with the likes of Sir Henry Cecil, Mark Johnston, Sir Michael Stoute and John Dunlop all saddling winners at the Curragh.

Aidan O'Brien has dominated this race in recent years, saddling five of the eight winners between 2014 and 2021. Jim Bolger and Adrian Keatley interrupted O'Brien's dominance when Pleascach and Jet Setting scored in 2014 and 2015 respectively. Jessica Harrington's Alpha Centauri claimed an impressive win under Shane Foley in 2018.

Irish 1000 Guineas Winners

2023 Tahiyra
2022 Homeless Songs
2021 Empress Josephine
2020 Peaceful
2019 Hermosa
2018 Alpha Centauri
2017 Winter
2016 Jet Setting
2015 Pleascach
2014 Marvellous
2013 Just The Judge
2012 Samitar
2011 Misty For Me
2010 Bethrah
2009 Again
2008 Halfway To Heaven
2007 Finsceal Beo
2006 Nightime
2005 Saoire
2004 Attraction
2003 Yesterday
2002 Gossamer
2001 Imagine
2000 Crimplene