91 Showlhs N

2024 Liverpool Hurdle Tips, Odds and Predictions

The third and final Grade One on the final day of the Grand National Festival is the Liverpool Hurdle, run over a trip of three miles.

Many of the sport's finest stayers have landed this Grade One. Including Big Buck's, who completed the Stayers' Hurdle and Liverpool Hurdle double four times between 2009 and 2012.

Liverpool Hurdle Key Facts

DateSaturday 13th April, 2024
StatusGrade One
First Prize£180k

Liverpool Hurdle Odds

No odds are currently available for the Liverpool Hurdle.

Liverpool Hurdle Tips

Our guide to this year's Liverpool Hurdle will be published when the field has been finalised.

2022 Liverpool Hurdle Result

1stSire Du Berlais16/1
2ndFlooring Porter11/8f

Liverpool Hurdle Day Card

1Gaskells Handicap HurdleGrade 33m
2Mersey Novices' HurdleGrade 12m4f
3Maghull Novices' ChaseGrade 12m4f
4Liverpool HurdleGrade 13m
5Betway Handicap ChaseGrade 33m1f
6Grand National Handicap ChaseGrade 34m2½f
7Conditional Jockey's Handicap HurdleClass 22m

Liverpool Hurdle History

The Liverpool Hurdle was created in 1974. Initially, the race was run at Ascot under the name of the Long Distance Hurdle. In 2004, it was added to the schedule on Grand National day and handed Grade One status.

While it was staged at Ascot, Martin Pipe won the Liverpool Hurdle four times. Pragada handed Pipe his first winner in 1992, with Deano's Beeno scoring in 2003, the year before the race was moved to Ascot.

Iris's Gift was the first winner of the upgraded Liverpool Hurdle, followed swiftly by Monet's Garden. Henry Daly's Mighty Man then became the first two-time winner of the Liverpool Hurdle, scoring in 2007.

Big Buck's, who'd won the Mildmay Novices' Chase at Aintree the previous year, won the Liverpool Hurdle for the first time in 2009. Paul Nicholls' star then retained his crown for the next three seasons and remains the only four-time winner of the Liverpool Hurdle.

Nicky Henderson's Whisper won in 2014, before successfully defending his crown the following season. 

Thistlecrack and Yanworth both celebrated victory, before Henry De Bromhead's Identity Thief triumphed in 2018.

The 2019 renewal of the Liverpool Hurdle saw Harry Fry's If The Cap Fits come out on top, beating two talented mares in Roksana and Apple's Jade in a thrilling finish.

Liverpool Hurdle Winners

2022 Sire Du Berlais
2021 Thyme Hill
2020 No Race
2019 If The Cap Fits
2018 Identity Thief
2017 Yanworth
2016 Thistlecrack
2015 Whisper
2014 Whisper
2013 Solwhit
2012 Big Buck's
2011 Big Buck's
2010 Big Buck's
2009 Big Buck's
2008 Blazing Bailey
2007 Mighty Man
2006 Mighty Man
2005 Monet's Garden
2004 Iris's Gift
2003 Deano's Beano
2002 Spendid
2001 Maid Equal