91 Showlhs N

2024 Aintree Bowl Tips, News and Predictions

The opening Thursday of Aintree's Grand National Festival is headlined by the Aintree Bowl. This Grade One was first held at Aintree in 1984, and is run over a trip of three miles.

As this is a three-mile Grade One for chasers, horses who ran in the Gold Cup at Cheltenham often reappear at Aintree, and some even go on to run in the Punchestown Gold Cup the following month.

Aintree Bowl Key Facts

DateThursday 11th April, 2024
StatusGrade One
First Prize£200k

Aintree Bowl Odds

No odds are currently available for the Aintree Bowl.

Aintree Bowl Tips

When the entries have been revealed, we'll publish our guide to the Aintree Bowl.

2022 Aintree Bowl Result

1stClan Des Obeaux13/2

Aintree Bowl Day Card

1Manifesto Novices' ChaseGrade 12m4f
2Anniversary 4-Y-O Juvenile HurdleGrade 12m1f
3Aintree Bowl ChaseGrade 13m1f
4Aintree HurdleGrade 12m4f
5Foxhunters' ChaseClass 22m5f
6Red Rum Handicap ChaseGrade 32m
7Mares' Flat RaceGrade 22m1f

Aintree Bowl History

The Aintree Bowl was created back in 1984. Originally, the race was a consolation prize for horses which were beaten or had been unable to participate in the previous month's Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Wayward Lad won the Aintree Bowl in 1985, and became the first two-time winner when he regained his crown as a 12-year-old two years later. Fan's favourite, Desert Orchid won the Bowl in 1988, before landing the Gold Cup the following season.

See More Business won the Aintree Bowl the year after winning the Cheltenham Gold Cup. French raider, First Gold then won the Bowl in 2001 and 2003, with Cheltenham winner Florida Pearl scoring inbetween.

AP McCoy won the Aintree Bowl twice in his career, guiding Tiutchev and Exotic Dancer to victory. Ruby Walsh, Noel Fehily, Paddy Brennan and Richard Dunwoody have also ridden two winners.

The most successful trainer in the Bowl is Paul Nicholls. Nicholls has saddled the winner four times, most recent with Silviniaco Conti, who scored in back-to-back renewals in 2014 and '15.

Cue Card claimed a popular win in 2016. Lizzie Kelly then became the first female jockey to ride the winner of the Aintree Bowl, guiding Tea For Two to victory.

Might Bite made up for a runner-up finish in the 2018 Gold Cup by winning the Aintree Bowl. Kemboy then handed Willie Mullins his second victory, beating Clan Des Obeaux by nine lengths.

Aintree Bowl Winners

2022 Clan Des Obeaux
2021 Clan Des Obeaux
2020 No Race
2019 Kemboy
2018 Might Bite
2017 Tea For Two
2016 Cue Card
2015 Silviniaco Conti
2014 Silviniaco Conti
2013 First Lieutenant
2012 Follow The Plan
2011 Nacarat
2010 What A Friend
2009 Madison du Berlais
2008 Our Vic
2007 Exotic Dancer
2006 Celestial Gold
2005 Grey Abbey
2004 Tiutchev
2003 First Gold
2002 Florida Pearl
2001 First Gold