91 Showlhs N

2024 Melling Chase Tips, Odds and Predictions

The third of four Grade One races on day two of Aintree's Grand National Festival is the Melling Chase.

The Melling Chase was introduced to the schedule at Aintree in 1991. The race is run over a trip of two-and-a-half-miles, and great names like Viking Flagship, Moscow Flyer and Sprinter Sacre feature on the roll of honour.

Melling Chase Key Facts

DateFriday 12th April, 2024
Trip2m 4f
StatusGrade One
First Prize£250k

Melling Chase Odds

No odds are currently available for the Melling Chase.

Melling Chase Tips

When the entries have been revealed, we'll publish our guide to the Melling Chase.

2022 Melling Chase Tips

1stFakir D'Oudairies10/11f
3rdSceau Royal18/1

Melling Chase Day Card

1Merseyrail Handicap HurdleGrade 32m4f
2Top Novices' HurdleGrade 12m
3Milmay Novices' ChaseGrade 13m1f
4Melling ChaseGrade 12m4f
5Topham ChaseGrade 32m5f
6Sefton Novices' HurdleGrade 13m
7Flat RaceGrade 22m1f

Melling Chase History

The Melling Chase was slotted into the Grand National Festival in 1991. Horses who ran in the Champion Chase and the Ryanair Chase at the Cheltenham Festival often go on to run in the Melling Chase. 

Remittance Man handed Nicky Henderson his first Melling Chase win in 1992. Henderson has won the race twice since then, most recently with Sprinter Sacre in 2013, as the short-priced favourite lived up to his star billing.

Paul Nicholls has also saddled three Melling Chase winners. Fadalko won in 2001, before Champion Chasers Master Minded and Politologue won in 2011 and '18 respectively.

Viking Flagship was the first two-time winner of the Melling Chase, scoring in 1995 and 96. Direct Route and Native Upmanship repeated that feat. As did the great Moscow Flyer, who won in 2005 and '05.

Voy Pour Ustedes is the last horse to have successfully defended the Melling Chase, winning in 2008 and '09.

Future Gold Cup winner, Don Cossack handed Gordon Elliott his only win in this Grade One in 2015. Tom George and  Colin Tizzard have both won the race with God's Own and Fox Norton respectively.

Willie Mullins' first victory came courtesy of Boston Bob in 2014. Mullins saddled his second winner in 2019, as Min destroyed Politologue and Waiting Patiently to score an emphatic victory in the Melling Chase.

Melling Chase Winners

2022 Fakir D'Oudairies
2021 Fakir D'Oudairies
2020 No Race
2019 Min
2018 Politologue
2017 Fox Norton
2016 God's Own
2015 Don Cossack
2014 Boston Bob
2013 Sprinter Sacre
2012 Finian's Rainbow
2011 Master Minded
2010 Alberta's Run
2009 Voy Pour Estudes
2008 Voy Pour Estudes
2007 Monet's Garden
2006 Hi Cloy
2005 Moscow Flyer
2004 Moscow Flyer
2003 Native Upmanship
2002 Native Upmanship
2001 Fadalko