91 Showlhs N

2024 Aintree Hurdle Tips, News and Predictions

Following on from the Bowl on day one of the Grand National Festival is the Aintree Hurdle. 

The Aintree Hurdle is a Grade One staged over two-and-a-half-miles, a trip that attracts horses who ran in both the Champion Hurdle and the Stayers' Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival.

Aintree Hurdle Key Facts

DateThursday 11th April, 2024
Distance2m 4f
StatusGrade One
First Prize£250k

Aintree Hurdle Odds

No odds are currently available for the Aintree Hurdle.

Aintree Hurdle Tips

When the field has been finalised, we will publish our guide to the Aintree Hurdle.

2022 Aintree Hurdle Tips


Aintree Hurdle Day Card

1Manifesto Novices' ChaseGrade 12m4f
2Anniversary 4-Y-O Juvenile HurdleGrade 12m1f
3Aintree Bowl ChaseGrade 13m1f
4Aintree HurdleGrade 12m4f
5Foxhunters' ChaseClass 22m5f
6Red Rum Handicap ChaseGrade 32m
7Mares' Flat RaceGrade 22m1f

Aintree Hurdle History

The Aintree Hurdle was added to the Grand National Festival schedule in 1976. The 1977 renewal saw a thrilling finish, as Night Nurse and Monksfield crossed the line together, and the stewards were unable to split them, calling it a head-heat.

Monkfiled went on to win the next two editions of the Aintree Hurdle. Dawn Run built on her famous Champion Hurdle win by scoring in the 1984 Aintree Hurdle, and she would go on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup two years later.

Toby Balding won the Aintree Hurdle five times in a row. First with Beech Road in 1989, before Morley Street won the race four times between 1990 and '93.

Danoli won back to back Aintree Hurdles during the 1990s. The great Istabraq also claimed Aintree Hurdle glory in 1999.

Barton won the second of his three Grade Ones at Aintree in the 2001 Aintree Hurdle. John Queally's Al Eile then scored in 2005, before completing a hat-trick in '07 and '08.

Nicky Henderson's Oscar Whisky secured back-to-back wins in 2011 and '12. Henderson has since taken his tally of wins to four, scoring with Buveur D'Air and L'Ami Serge.

Nigel Twiston-Davies has saddled the Aintree Hurdle winner three times, most recently with The New One in 2014. 

Jezki and Annie Power then won twice for Ireland, following their Champion Hurdle successes with wins in the Aintree Hurdle.

Jessica Harrington celebrated her second win in 2019, as Supasundae held off Buveur D'Air to claim victory.

Aintree Hurdle Winners

2022 Epatante
2021 Abacadabras
2020 No Race
2019 Supasundae
2018 L'Ami Serge
2017 Buveur D'Air
2016 Annie Power
2015 Jezki
2014 The New One
2013 Zarkandar
2012 Oscar Whisky
2011 Oscar Whisky
2010 Khyber Kim
2009 Solwhit
2008 Al Eile
2007 Al Eile
2006 Asian Maze
2005 Al Eile
2004 Rhinestone Cowboy
2003 Sacundai
2002 Ilnamar
2001 Barton