91 Showlhs N

2024 2000 Guineas Tips, Odds and Predictions

DateSaturday May 4, 2024
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights

{Following the Aidan O'Brien stable is a recipe for success. The Irish trainer has won the 2000 Guineas on eight occasions.

Form is necessary for the 2000 Guineas. The last 16 winners have all won or placed at their previous start, so look for the runners in form.} 

The 2000 Guineas is one of the biggest races in the world and it's the first leg of Britain's Triple Crown.

Past winners have included the likes of Frankel, Gleneagles and Dawn Approach.

2000 Guineas betting selections & tips

We will have expert tips for the 2000 Guineas available when the final-field markets are released by bookmakers.

A good betting strategy is to follow the Aidan O'Brien stable and also the favoured runners with bookmakers.

2000 Guineas Day betting card

There are seven premier races on 2000 Guineas Day at Newmarket.

Race No.
Race Name
1Spring Lodge Stakes
2Palace House Stakes
3Jockey Club Stakes 
42000 Guineas
5Hot Streak Handicap
6Newmarket Stakes
7Racing Welfare Handicap

2000 Guineas history

First run in 1809, the 2000 Guineas is one of the oldest thoroughbred horse races in the world and it has stood the test of time since.

One of five classic races in the UK (1000 Guineas, Epsom Oaks, Epsom Derby, St. Leger), the 2000 Guineas is the first to run in the year and is one of the most important.

It's the first leg of the Triple Crown and although the Triple Crown isn't as popular as the US Triple Crown, it still adds some more intrigue to the May feature race.

Open to three-year-old colts and fillies, the 2000 Guineas is one of the most prestigious races in the world and the prize money received a boost in 2017.

Historic names such as Nijinsky, Rodrigo de Triano, Golan and Rock of Gibralter have been engraved on the 2000 Guineas trophy.

The modern-day champions have also had great success in the 2000 Guineas with unbeaten champion Frankel winning in 2011 and only quality winners have followed.

Aidan O'Brien has won the race on eight occasions and he continues to line up multiple chances in the race.

O'Brien scored with Henrythenavigator, Camelot and Churchill, to name a few.

Jockey Jem Robinson won the 2000 Guineas on nine occasions during the 1800's. In a feat that is unlikely to be matched, Robinson won the race five times during the 1830's and he was the most dominant jockey of his time.

2000 Guineas betting guide

The 2000 Guineas has long been associated with champion thoroughbreds, but bettors have had to deal with the odd upset result.

The biggest plunge was landed in 2011 when Frankel stormed to victory. The 1/2 favourite scored by six lengths and that reestablished confidence for bettors are suffering four consecutive upset results from 2007-2010.

During that time the winners paid 25/1, 11/1, 8/1 and 33/1 when Makfi scored in 2010.

The win of Frankel was the first of three consecutive favourites to win the 2000 Guineas. Camelot (15/8) and Dawn Approach (11/8) were heavily-favoured with bookmakers.

Gleneagles won as the 3/1 elect in 2015 and Churchill was also popular with bettors at 7/5.

When betting on the 2000 Guineas, punters should look for the middle-distance types.

It would pay to follow runners which have finished in the top three at their previous starts. These runners have a great record in the race and group form is also a big positive.

Every winner in the past 16 years has finished the top three coming into the 2000 Guineas and 14 out of 16 had won at group level.

2000 Guineas facts

  • Only seven fillies have been successful in the 2000 Guineas, despite carrying a lighter weight than their male counterparts.

  • The most recent filly winner came in 1944 with Garden Path.

  • Henrythenavigator won by a nose in 2008, the first time a British Classic had been one by the margin since it was introduced only three months prior.

  • The shortest-priced winner was St Frusquin at 12/100 in 1986 and the longest-priced winner paid 66/1 in 1961 when Rockavon caused the upset.

  • The Royal Family has a good record in the 2000 Guineas. Queen Elizabeth II owned 1958 winner Pall Mall and King Edward VII owned Diamond Jubilee and Minoru.

2000 Guineas lead-up races

There are many different paths leading to the 2000 Guineas.

2017 winner Churchill hadn't raced in over seven months having won the Dewhurst Stakes as a two-year-old.

Entering the race fresh up is quite common and the feat was also achieved by 2016 winner Galileo Gold, which finished third in the Group 1 Prix Jean-luc Lagardere in October, 2015.

2015 Guineas winner Gleneagles also came through the Longchamp' feature. The Aidan O'Brien-trained runner won the Prix Lagardere but was disqualified and subsequently ran third on protest.

Frankel didn't come into the 2000 Guineas fresh-up, having won the Greenham Stakes just two weeks prior. 

The Greenham Stakes is a quality lead-up race as it lets the three-year-old's build up over 1400m on their way to the mile of the 2000 Guineas.

Recent 2000 Guineas winners list

Race Winner
2021Poetic Flare
2019Magna Grecia
2018 Saxon Warrior
2016Galileo Gold
2014Night of Thunder
2013Dawn Approach
2009Sea the Stars
2007Cockney Rebel
2006George Washington
2003Refuse to Bend
2002Rock of Gibraltar
2000King's Best
1999Island Sands
1998King of Kings
1996Mark of Esteem