7152 Showlhs N

2022 Savills Chase Tips, Odds & Betting Predictions

The feature race during Leopardstown's Christmas Festival is the Savills Chase. Formerly known as the Lexus Chase, this Grade One has been won by many of the sport's finest chasers.

Horses who impress in the Savills Chase will often to on to run in huge races like the Irish Gold Cup, the Punchestown Gold Cup, the Grand National and the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

2022 Savills Chase Odds

A Plus Tard6/4

*Odds taken on 14/12/22*

2022 Savills Chase Tips

When the final runners have been announced, we'll publish our Savills Chase tips.

2021 Savills Chase Result

2ndA Plus Tard8/11f

Savills Chase Day Card

12:15pmMaiden Hurdle 2m4f
12:50pmPertemps Network Handicap Hurdle 3m
1:25pmBeginners Chase 2m5f
2:00pmFrank Ward Memorial Hurdle (Grade 1) 3m
2:35pmChristmas Handicap Hurdle 2m4f
3:10pmSavills Chase (Grade 1) 3m
3:40pmFlat Race 2m

Savills Chase History

The Savills Chase was first run at Leopardstown in the winter of 1986. This Grade One has had many sponsors down the years, and was named the Lexus Chase between 2004 and 2016, until Savills took over sponsorship.

British trainer, David Nicholson celebrated victory in the first Savills Chase, as Richard Dunwoody rode Very Promising to victory. Maid Of Money then became the first two-time winner of this Grade One, scoring under Anthony Powell in 1988 and '89.

In 1997, reigning Cheltenham Gold Cup winner, Dorans Pride came to Leopardstown and won the Christmas Chase. Ted Walsh's Rince Ri then secured back-to-back wins, with Ted's son, Ruby Walsh riding Rince Ri during his second win in the year 2000.

Beef Or Salmon, regarded by many as one of the greatest chasers never to win a Gold Cup, won the Savills' Chase three times between 2002 and 2005. Michael Hourigan's star finished third behind three-time Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Best Mate in 2003, and also placed second to The Listener in 2006.

Ruby Walsh guided Paul Nicholls' Denman to victory at Leopardstown in 2007. Nicholls has also won this race with What A Friend and Tidal Bay, who won as an 11-year-old in 2012.

Jonjo O'Neill saddled Synchronised and Exotic Dancers before their victories. Nicky Henderson's name also appears on the honors boards at Leopardstown, having won this race with Gold Cup winner Bobs Worth in 2013.

Noel Meade, Gordon Elliott and Willie Mullins have shared the last six renewals of the Savills Chase between them. Meade celebrated his third and fourth wins with Road To Riches and Road To Respect, while Don Poli and Kemboy have won for Willie Mullins.

Outlander handed Gordon Elliott his first victory in the Savills Chase in 2015. In 2019, Delta Work powered home under Jack Kennedy to beat Monalee and Road To Respect.

Henry De Bromhead celebrated his second win in the Savills Chase in 2020, as A Plus Tard ran down Kemboy and Melon to snatch an unlikely victory. A Plus Tard was then beaten at odds-on the following season, as Gordon Elliott's Galvin got back up to win under the shadow of the post.

Savills Chase Winners

2021 Galvin
2020 A Plus Tard
2019 Delta Work
2018 Kemboy
2017 Road To Respect
2016 Outlander
2015 Don Poli
2014 Road To Riches
2013 Bobs Worth
2012 Tidal Bay
2011 Synchronised
2010 Pandorama
2009 What A Friend
2008 Exotic Dancer
2007 Denman
2006 The Listener
2005 Beef Or Salmon
2004 Beef Or Salmon
2003 Best Mate
2002 Beef Or Salmon

Beef Or Salmon winning his third Lexus Chase in 2005