7152 Showlhs N

2023 Punchestown Gold Cup Tips, Odds and News

The second day of racing at the Punchestown Festival is headlined by the Punchestown Gold Cup. Horses who ran in the Irish Gold Cup, the Cheltenham Gold Cup and the Aintree Bowl often go on to run in this three-mile chase.

The Punchestown Gold Cup was added to the Festival schedule in 1999, and it's been won by legends like Beef Or Salmon, Kicking King and Carlingford Lough.

Punchestown Gold Cup Key Facts

DateWednesday 26th April, 2023
StatusGrade One
First Prize£300k

2023 Punchestown Gold Cup Odds

The odds for the Punchestown Gold Cup can be found at the top of this page...

2023 Punchestown Gold Cup Tips

Once the field has been finalised, we'll publish our guide to the Punchestown Gold Cup.

2022 Punchestown Gold Cup Result

2ndClan Des Obeaux11/2
3rdAl Boum Photo20/1

Punchestown Gold Cup Day Card

1Handicap HurdleClass 22m5f
2Auction Hurdle Series FinalClass 22m4f
3Louis Fitzgerald Hotel HurdleClass 22m24f
4Irish Daily Mirror Novice HurdleGrade 13m
5Punchestown Gold CupGrade 13m1f
6Champion IHN Flat RaceGrade 12m
7Guinness Handicap ChaseGrade A2m4f
8Mares INH Flat RaceGrade 32m

Punchestown Gold Cup History

The Punchestown Gold Cup was first run at Punchestown in 1999, and it's proven itself to be a very popular addition to the Punchestown Festival Schedule.

Imperial Call won the first ever running for Raymond Hurley. Ted Walsh then claimed his first win, as his son, Ruby guided Commanche Court to victory in 2000.

Ruby Walsh is the most successful jockey in the Punchestown Gold Cup. Walsh has ridden a winner for his father, Raymond Hurley, back-to-back wins on Neptune Collonges for Paul Nicholls, and two winners for Willie Mullins.

Willie Mullins has lifted the Punchestown Gold Cup five times. Florida Pearl handed Mullins his first victory in 2002. Ireland's Champion Trainer has also won with Sir Des Champs, Boston Bob and Bellshill.

Francois Doumen took the Gold Cup back to France when he won with First Gold in 2003. Beef Or Salmon then claimed the trophy back for Ireland, before Kicking King and War Of Attrition followed in his footsteps.

Don Cossack handed Gordon Elliott his first Punchestown Gold Cup win in 2015, before following up in the Cheltenham Gold Cup the following year. Carlingford Lough then won this race as a 10-year-old in 2016.

Sizing John completed the famous Irish Gold Cup, Cheltenham Gold Cup and Punchestown Gold Cup in 2017. After Bellshill won in 2018, Willie Mullins saddled his fifth winner, as Kemboy held off Al Boum Photo to triumph in 2019.

Paul Nicholls won his third Punchestown Gold Cup when Clan Des Obeaux triumphed in 2021.

Punchestown Gold Cup Winners

2022 Allaho
2021 Clan Des Obeaux
2020 No Race
2019 Kemboy
2018 Bellshill
2017 Sizing John
2016 Carlingford Lough
2015 Don Cossack
2014 Boston Bob
2013 Sir Des Champs
2012 China Rock
2011 Follow The Plan
2010 Planet Of Sound
2009 Notre Pere
2008 Neptune Collonges
2007 Neptune Collonges
2006 War Of Attrition
2005 Kicking King
2004 Beef Or Salmon
2003 First Gold
2002 Florida Pearl
2001 Moscow Express
2000 Commanche Court
1999 Imperial Call