7152 Showlhs N

2023 Punchestown Champion Chase Tips, Odds and News

Day one at the Punchestown Festival is headlined by the Punchestown Champion Chase. This Grade One chase takes place over a trip of two miles, and is often contested by horses who ran in the Champion Chase at the Cheltenham Festival.

The Punchestown Champion Chase was first run in 1950, and has been won by greats like Master Minded, Sprinter Sacre, Moscow Flyer and Un de Sceaux.

Punchestown Champion Chase Key Facts

DateTuesday 25th April, 2023
StatusGrade One
First Prize£300k

2023 Punchestown Champion Chase Odds

The latest odds for the Punchestown Champion Chase can be found at the top of the page...

2023 Punchestown Champion Chase Tips

Once the field has been finalised, we'll publish our guide to the Punchestown Champion Chase.

2022 Punchestown Champion Chase Result

2ndChacun Pour Soi3/1

Punchestown Champion Chase Day Card

1Hunter Chase Ladies Perpetual CupClass 43m1f
2Champion Novice HurdleGrade 12m
3Killashee Handicap HurdleClass 22m
4Punchestown Champion ChaseGrade 12m
5Goffs Land Rover BumperClass 22m
6Champion Novice ChaseGrade 13m1f
7IHN Flat RaceClass 22m

Punchestown Champion Chase History

The Punchestown Champion Chase was first run at Punchestown in 1950. The race was initially a handicap, and wasn't upgraded to a Grade One until 1999.

Two-time Champion Chase winner, Fortria carried top-weight to victory in this race in 1961. That was trainer Tom Dreaper's fist victory in the Punchestown Champion Chase, and he went on to win it six times over the next ten years.

Shower Of Silver was the first two-time winner of the Punchestown Chase, winning back to back renewals in 1955 and '56. Muir, Skymas, Light The Wad and Klarion Davis also managed two victories while the race was a handicap.

Viking Flagship claimed his first Grade One win in the 1993 Punchestown Champion Chase. He would go on to win the Champion Chase at Cheltenham twice, and also the Melling Chase at Aintree.

The year fter winning the Queen Mother at Cheltenham, Flagship Uberalles won the 2003 Punchestown Champion Chase. The following year saw Moscow Flyer win this huge two-miler at Punchestown.

Paul Nicholls' won back-to-back renewals of the Punchestown Champion Chase with Twist Magic and Master Minded. Nicky Henderson claimed his third victory with Sprinter Sacre in 2013, with Henry De Bromhead's Sizing Europe scoring in 2012 and '14.

Tom George and Colin Tizzard took the Punchestown Champion Chase crown back to England in 2016 and '17, winning with God's Own and Fox Norton respectively. 

After finishing second to Fox Norton the previous year, Un De Sceaux upset Douvan to win the 2018 Punchestown Champion Chase. Willie Mullins' 11-year-old then defeated Min to successfully defend his crown in 2019.

Chacun Pour Soi ran out a brilliant winner of the Punchestown Champion Chase in 2021.

Punchestown Champion Chase Winners

2022 Energumene
2021 Chacun Pour Soi
2020 No Race
2019 Un de Sceaux
2018 Un de Sceaux
2017 Fox Norton
2016 God's Own
2015 Felix Yonger
2014 Sizing Europe
2013 Sprinter Sacre
2012 Sizing Europe
2011 Big Zeb
2010 Golden Silver
2009 Master Minded
2008 Twist Magic
2007 Mansony
2006 Newmill
2005 Rathgar Beau
2004 Moscow Flyer
2003 Flagship Uberalles
2002 Strong Run
2001 Micko's Dream
2000 Get Real