91 Showlhs N

2022 Nassau Stakes Tips & Predictions

DateThursday 28th July, 2022
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money£600,000
Age3YO fillies and mares

The Nassau Stakes is the third of the Group 1 features during Glorious Goodwood and it's a quality race for the fillies and mares.

It has been dominated by the bigger stables in recent history, with the likes of Sir Michael Stoute, Henry Cecil and Aidan O'Brien all winning consecutive Nassau Stakes.

Always a popular betting race, the Nassau Stakes is the feature on a quality Day 3 card at Goodwood in early August.

Nassau Stakes day betting card 2022

The Richmond Stakes is also on the Day 3 card at Goodwood, but all of the attention is on the Nassau Stakes, which runs for big prize money.

1:50pm Kincsem Handicap Class 2
2:25pm Richmond Stakes Group 2
3:00pm Gordon Stakes Group 3
3:35pm  Nassau Stakes Group 1
4:10pm Nursery Handicap Class 2
4:45pm Maiden Fillies' Stakes Class 2
5:20pm Halnaker Handicap Class 3

2022 Nassau Stakes Tips

When the field has been finalised for this year's race, we'll publish our tips for the 2021 Nassau Stakes.

2022 Nassau Stakes Odds

Lilac Road7/1
My Astra8/1

*Odds taken on 20/7/22*

2020 Nassau Stakes Result

1stLady Bowthorpe15/2
3rdJoan Of Arc9/4

2022 Nassau Stakes Entries

Topping the market we find Nashwa, who followed a strong third in the Epsom Oaks with an impressive victory in the Prix de Diane last time out. John Gosden could also run Inspiral, following her shock defeat in the Falmouth Stakes last time out.

Aidan O'Brien has entered up Oaks winner Tuesday, but it's likely she will be kept for an autumn campaign. Toy, Concert Hall and History could represent Ballydoyle.

William Haggas could run Middleton Stakes winner, Lilac Road and Pretty Polly runner-up, My Astra. Ed Walker has handed a Glorious Goodwood entry to Prix d'Ispahan winner, Dreamloper.

Other likely runners on Thursday include Sir Michael Stoute's duo of Ville De Grace and Lights On, Tom Clover's Rogue Millennium and Kevin Ryan's three-year-old, Fonteyn.

Nassau Stakes History

The Nassau Stakes is one of the premier fillies and mares' races in Britain and it runs on the third day of the Glorius Goodwood carnival in July/August.

It was restricted to three-year-old fillies for the first 135 years and was given Group 1 status in 1999 when Saeed bin Suroor scored with Zahrat Dubai.

There have been many champions winners since, including Ouija Board, The Fugue, Minding and Winter.

Midday was a three-time from 2009-2011 and in the process proving itself as the best female middle-distance runner in the land.

Sir Michael Stoute scored three consecutive wins with three different horses from 2002-2004 and Henry Cecil, who has a total of eight wins in the race, scored three consecutive wins with Midday.

John Gosden followed suit when lining up The Fugue, Winsili and Legatissimo in consecutive years before Aidan O'Brien scored back-to-back victories with Minding and Winter.

It has long been a favourites race with 27 favourites winning the last 70 editions and the high-quality stables target their best fillies and mares for the Nassau Stakes.

Classic winner Legatissimo, Winter and Minding continued favourite's strong record between 2015 and 17. Charlie Appleby's Wild Illusion then won her second Group One in 2018.

Deirdre struck a blow for Japan when Mitsuru Hashida's raider claimed a shock win under Oisin Murphy in 2019. Aidan O'Brien's youngest son, Donnacha O'Brien then saddled his first Group One winner, as Fancy Blue struck in the 2020 Nassau Stakes.

In 2021, William Jarvis claimed the biggest win of his training career, as the popular Lady Bowthorpe won the Nassau Stakes.

Nassau Stakes betting guide

Favourites have a great record in the Nassau Stakes, but there have been some recent upsets.

Winsili scored for John Gosden and William Buick in 2013 at odds of 20/1 and Sultanina was an 11/2 winner in 2014, but it has been a race largely dominated by the punters' elect.

Winter paid 10/11 when winning in 2017 and stablemate Minding was very short in the betting at 1/5 in 2016 when beating a field of only five.

The fields are commonly small which means the odds aren't as generous (Winsili faced a field of 15) and punters have done a good job of identifying the best horse in the race.

Despite winning the previous two editions, Midday won paying 6/4 in 2011, having won at odds of 11/2 and 15/8 in the two years prior.

Seven of the last 12 favourites have won the Nassau Stakes and eight of the past 12 winners had previous won at Group 1 level, including Midday and Minding which had five Group 1 wins a piece.

Running well leading into the Nassau Stakes is key and most winners have run in the first four prior to running at Goodwood.

Past Nassau Stakes winners

Race Winner
2021Lady Bowthorpe
2020Fancy Blue
2018Wild Illusion
2017 Winter
2012The Fugue
2008Halfway to Heaven
2007Peeping Pawn
2006Ouija Board
2005Alexander Goldrun
2004Favourable Terms
2003Russian Rhythm
1999Zahrat Dubai
1996Last Second
1993Lyphard's Delta
1992Ruby Tiger
1991Ruby Tiger
1988Ela Romara