Fillies' Mile Tips & Predictions

DateFriday October 12, 2018
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money€567,500
Age2YO fillies

{11 of the last 12 winners had winning form prior to taking out the Fillies' Mile.

Aidan O'Brien has trained five winners of the Fillies' Mile and three of the last four.}

One of the biggest fillies' races of the year is the Fillies' Mile at Newmarket.

Held every October, the rich race for two-year-olds sees the best middle-distance female juveniles take to the track in hopes to win the €567,500 purse.

Fillies' Mile betting card 2018

The Group 2 Challenge Stakes is also held on Fillies' Mile day, but the day firmly belongs to the Group 1 feature.

Race No.
Race Name
1Cornwallis Stakes
2So Sharp Stakes
3Challenge Stakes
4Fillies' Mile
5Rowley Cup
6Maiden Stakes
7Class 1 Stakes

Fillies' Mile betting selections & tips

We will have expert tips for the Fillies' Mile available when the final-field markets are released by bookmakers.

Fillies' Mile history

Originally held at Ascot, the Fillies' Mile was changed to Newmarket temporarily when Ascot was closed for redevelopment in 2005 and Newmarket became its permanent home in 2011.

Having been established in only 1973, the Fillies' Mile was upgraded to Group 1 status in 1990 when taken out by Shamshir for Luca Cumani and Frankie Dettori, who has won the race on six occasions.

Dettori has ridden the likes of Teggiano and Lyric of Light during his career in the Fillies' Mile and he remains the most successful jockey, but Ryan Moore (Minding, Rhododendron) is eating into the margin.

The winner from 2008-2012 received automatic entry into the Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf and it has been a part of the Breeders' Cup Challenge since that time.

It was formerly held on day three of the Cambridgeshire meeting but was added to the Future Champions Day in 2014 and it is now run on the Friday of the Champions festival.

Henry Cecil has recorded the most wins from any trainer with six. He saddled up the likes of Oh So Sharp, Tessla and Reams of Verse to victory.

Aidan O'Brien has five wins in the race and he recorded three consecutive victories with Together Forever, Minding and Rhododendron from 2014-2016.

Fillies' Mile betting guide

The well-backed runners typically run well in the Fillies' Mile but there have been numerous upsets over the course of history.

Laurens benefitted from the favourite being late scratched in 2017 when winning at odds of 10/1. That denied Aidan O'Brien four consecutive wins in the race and punters were on board the Irish trainers runners during that time.

Together Forever won at 7/1 in 2014 and stablemates Minding and Rhododendron were 5/4 and 5/2 respectively in the betting.

Odds-on favourites have a good record in recent times. Rainbow View paid 4/7 when winning for John Gosden in 2008 and White Moonstone paid 4/5 when winning in 2010.

Certify scored at 4/6 in 2012 to give Mahmood Al Zarooni his second straight win after Lyric of Light scored a year earlier.

All but one of the last 12 winners had winning form that season. Hibaayeb won at 8/1 in 2009 having not won in three starts that season.

Every other recent winner has won at least once that season with the likes of Rainbow View and Certify winning three times.

Fillies' Mile trends

Six of the last 12 winners were favourites and eight of those 12 were in the top three in betting.

Winning form is a good guide for the Fillies' Mile, with eight of the last 12 winners having won at their previous run. All 12 had their last run within a month of the race.

Newmarket has never been a horses-for-courses track and only five of the last 12 winners had winning form on the track.

Group form is worth noting as eight of the last 12 winners have won at group level.

Recent Fillies' Mile winners

Race Winner
2014Together Forever
2011Lyric Of Light
2010White Moonstone
2008Rainbow View
2006Simply Perfect
2004Playful Act
2003Red Bloom
2002Soviet Song
2000Crystal Music
1996Reams Of Verse
1995Bosra Sham
1993Fairy Heights
1991Culture Vulture
1989Silk Slippers