Dewhurst Stakes Tips & Predictions

DateSaturday October 13, 2018
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeSet weights
Prize money€500,000

{Ryan Moore and Aidan O'Brien have teamed up to win the last three races, with all three runners referencing The United States of America.} 

The Dewhurst Stakes is one of the main lead-up races to the Classic races the following season. 

Held on Future Champions Day at Newmarket, the two-year-old sprint is a popular race for punters and it has featured some of Britain's best champion thoroughbreds. 

Frankel, Churchill and Dawn Approach have all won in recent times and it has become a main stallion-making race.

Dewhurst Stakes betting card 2018

The Dewhurst is the only Group 1 on the Saturday card at Newmarket, but there's great racing to be enjoyed punters across the card.

Race No.
Race Name
1Zetland Stakes
2Autumn Stakes
3Dewhurst Stakes
4Class 2 Handicap
5Nursery Stakes
6Boadicea Stakes
7Club Stakes

Dewhurst Stakes betting selections & tips

We will have expert tips for the Dewhurst Stakes available when the final-field markets are released by bookmakers.

Dewhurst Stakes history

The Dewhurst Stakes is the most prestigious juvenile race in Britain and it has been a high-quality race since its inception in 1875. 

The first four winners of the race went on to win one or more of the Classic races the following year and that trend has continued throughout time. 

Featuring on the aptly-named Future Champions Day, past winners of the Dewhurst Stakes have become some of Britain's finest middle-distance horses.
Recent winners include unbeaten colt Frankel, 2000 Guineas winner Churchill and many more stars for the big stables. 

It is also an important race for the stud career of the colts. Names such as Rock of Gibraltar, Shamardal, Sir Percy and Teofilo have all won the Dewhurst Stakes before becoming stars in the breeding barns. 

Lester Piggott won the race 10 times during his amazing career, but the most successful jockeys in recent history include Kevin Manning, who rode five winners in a seven-year span. 

Ryan Moore has won three consecutive races with Air Force Blue, Churchill and US Navy Flag – all trained by Aidan O'Brien. 

Coolmore currently has a stranglehold on the Dewhurst Stakes and it's not a race taken out by the smaller British trainers. 

Dewhurst Stakes betting guide

Favourites tend to do well in the Dewhurst Stakes and there have been some short-priced favourites win over the last 10 years. 

Dawn Approach scored at 30/100 in 2012 for Jim Bolger and jockey Kevin Manning, who teamed up to win five Dewhurst Stakes' victories. 

War Command backed up that win for punters at 10/11 in 2013 to give Joseph O'Brien a popular win for his Dad in the saddle. 

The two-year-old only had to beat five rivals on that occasion and Aidan O'Brien again trained the winner in 2015 with Air Force Blue, which defeated only six rivals. 

It's not a great race in terms of numbers. Churchill defeated only six runners and the 2017 edition attracted nine runners. 

This is likely due to the dominance of the global stables, but it still remains a popular betting race and punters get to see some of the best thoroughbred talent in the world.

One of the best fields to line up was in 2009 when Beethoven scored the upset at 33/1 for Aidan O'Brien. The two-year-old upset the likes of Xtension and Pure Champion, which would later become Group 1 winners in Hong Kong and New Zealand respectively.

Recent Dewhurst Stakes winners

Race Winner
2017US Navy Flag
2015Air Force Blue
2013War Command
2012Dawn Approach
2011Parish Hall
2005Sir Percy
2003Milk It Nick
2002Tout Seul
2001Rock Of Gibraltar
1999Distant Music
1996In Command
1993Grand Lodge
1991Dr Devious
1989Dashing Blade
1988Prince Of Dance/Scenic