2024 Durban July Handicap Tips, Odds and News

248 Showlhs N

DateSaturday July 6, 2024
ClassGroup 1
Race TypeHandicap
Prize moneyR5 million

60 percent of the July Handicap races have been won by three-year-olds since 1998.

The Durban July Handicap is a race all South African trainers want to win.

South Africa's premier race runs on the first Saturday in July at Greyville and is the most popular betting race in South Africa and is gaining popularity around the world.

2024 Durban July Handicap betting selections & tips

We will have Durban July Handicap expert tips when markets become available.

Durban July Betting Card

There are 12 races on the card at Greyville, which gives punters plenty to bet on throughout the day in July.

R84 Handicap 
Mumm Stakes 
Grade 3 Handicap 
Gold Vase
Golden Slipper 
Golden Horseshoe 
Durban July Handicap 
Mr 104 Handicap 
Yearling Sale Million
Garden Province Stakes 
Ethekwini Sprint 
Listed Handicap

Durban July Handicap history

The first running of the July Handicap was in 1897 and it is commonly held on the first Saturday of July.

The Durban July Handicap is raced on turf and is South Africa's best thoroughbred horse race.

It was originally run over 1600m but was changed to 2200m in 1970 when Court Day took out the Group 1 prize for connections.

Trainer Mike de Kock, who trained champion sprinter Rocket Man, has had good success in the July Handicap with four winners.

De Kock trained Ipi Tombe, Greys Inn and Igugu. The South African-born trainer doesn't hold the record for most wins, however, with Sydney C. Laird winning seven times.

Terence M. Millard trainer six winners in eight years during the 1980's and 1990's.

Four jockeys have scored multiple wins in the race but Piere Strydom has had the most recent success, winning in 2016 with The Conglomerate for Australian-born trainer Joey Ramsden.

International success came with Colorado King winning in 1963. It would later win the Hollywood Gold Cup and set a world record for 1800m when winning the American Handicap.

Durban July Handicap betting guide

Three-year-old runners have a great success rate in the Durban July Handicap.

60 percent of races run since 1998 have been won by three-year-olds and four-year-old runners are also worth noting.

Favourites haven't fared well in recent times for various reasons.

Only three favourites have won in the last 13 years and there has never been an odds-on winner of the Durban July Handicap, with the shortest-priced winner, Sea Cottage, paying 11/10 ($2.10) with bookmakers.

There have been four back-to-back winners which is a good betting trends for punters to take note of.

Wide draws haven't helped in the past but there has been some recent winners drawing out wide.

Bookmakers always offer a wide-open betting field and that allows punters to lock up great each way value.

Durban July Handicap qualifying races

There are 10 automatic qualifying races for the Durban July Handicap and four races where the winner receives preferential consideration.

  • The L’Ormarins Queens Plate 6.
  • The SA Derby
  • The SunMet
  • Premier’s Champions Challenge
  • The Investec Cape Derby
  • Daily News 2000
  • The SA Classic
  • Woolavington 2000
  • The SA Fillies Classic 
  • Rising Sun Gold Challenge

Durban July Handicap past winners list

2023Winchester Mansion
2022Sparking Water
2019Do It Again
2018Do It Again
2016The Conglomerate
2015Power King
2013Heavy Metal
2010Bold Silvano
2009Big City Life
2008Pocket Power/Dancers Daughter
2007Hunting Tower
2004Greys Inn
2002Ipi Tombe
2000El Picha
1999El Picha
1998Classic Flag
1997Super Quality
1996London News
1994Space Walk
1993Dancing Duel
1992Spanish Galliard
1991Flaming Rock
1989Right Prerogative
1988Royal Chalice