91 Showlhs N

2024 Coral Gold Cup Odds, Tips and Predictions

The first big race to be staged at Newbury during the new National Hunt season is the Coral Gold Cup. This historic Group Three handicap has been won by many legendary horses, and has often been used as a stepping stone towards the Cheltenham Gold Cup later in the season.

All of National Hunt racing's top trainers will target a victory in the Ladbrokes Trophy. Runners from Paul Nicholls', Nicky Henderson's and Colin Tizzard's stables will sit prominently in the betting for the 2021 renewal, and the race will be shown live on ITV Racing.

This race has been known as the Hennessy Gold Cup and the Ladbrokes Trophy in recent years. In 2022, it was renamed the Coral Gold Cup.

Coral Gold Cup Day Card

1Mares' Novices' Hurdle (Listed) 2m
2John Francombe Novices' Chase (Grade 2) 3m
3Sir Peter O'Sullevan Memorial Handicap Chase (Class 2) 2m6f
4Handicap Hurdle (Class 2) 2m4f
5Intermediate Hurdle (Listed) 2m
6Ladbrokes Trophy Handicap Chase (Grade 3) 3m2f
7Jim Joel Memorial Trophy (Class 2) 2m

Coral Gold Cup Tips

When the final field has been confirmed, we'll publish our guide to the Coral Gold Cup including odds, trends and two horses to back!

2022 Coral Gold Cup Result

1stLe Milos9/2f
3rdGericault Roque13/2
4thCorach Rambler11/1

Coral Gold Cup History

Originally called the Hennessy Cognac Gold Cup, this handicap was first staged back in 1957. The race was originally staged at Cheltenham, before being moved to Newbury in 1960.

This race was known as "The Hennessy" for much of its existance. Ladbrokes took over sponsorship in 2017, and it's been called the Ladbrokes Trophy ever since.

Top stayer Mandarin won the first renewal of the Ladbrokes Trophy. He would then go on to reclaim the crown on the second occasion it was staged at Newbury in 1961.

Arkle, widely regarded as the greatest horse in the history of jumps racing, came won this handicap in 1964 and '65, carrying a crippling burden of 12-07 on both occasions. Arkle won go on to win the Gold Cup at Cheltenham in both of those seasons, before securing a hat-trick of Gold Cup wins in 1966.

After that, many future Cheltenham Gold Cup horses began their campaign with a run in "the Hennessy". Gold Cup winner Burrough Hill Lad came to Newbury just months after his Cheltenham triumph, and produced an Arkle-esque performance to triumph under 12 stone.

Popular chaser, One Man claimed the Ladbrokes Trophy in 1994. Although he failed in his bid to win the Gold Cup, Tony Dobbins' star would drop back in trip and win the Champion Chase four years later.

Another of the sport's most popular figures, Denman carried top-weight to victory at Newbury in 2007, and again in 2009. Paul Nicholls' charge went on to win the Gold Cup at Cheltenham in 2008, and finished second to stablemate Kauto Star in '07 and '09.

Bob's Worth became Nicky Henderson's second winner of this lucrative handicap in 2012, before scoring in the Gold Cup that same season.

Native River handed Colin Tizzard a maiden victory at Newbury in 2016. Although he would finish third in the Gold Cup that season, Native River went two better at Cheltenham the following season, winning the 2018 Gold Cup.

Many Clouds struck in the 2014 Ladbrokes Trophy, and went on to secure a famous victory in the Grand National that season under Leighton Aspell.

Willie Mullins's long wait for a Ladbrokes Trophy win was ended in 2018, as Total Recall held off Whisper. There was another first in 2019, as Emma Lavelle's De Rasher Counter handed both his trainer, and young jockey Ben Jones' their maiden wins in this historic handicap.

In 2020, Jonjo O'Neill celebrated his first victory in the Ladbrokes Trophy, as Tom Scudemore guided bottom-weight Cloth Cap home in excellent fashion. There was then a huge shock in 2021, as Venetia Williams' Cloudy Glen carried odds of 33/1 into the Newbury winners' enclosure.

Coral Gold Cup Winners

2022Le Milos
2021Cloudy Glen
2020Cloth Cap
2019De Rasher Counter
2018Sizing Tennessee
2017Total Recall
2016Native River
2015Smad Place
2014Many Clouds
2013Triolo D'Alene
2012Bobs Worth
2010Diamond Harry
2008Madison du Berlais
2006State Of Play
2004Celestial Gold
2003Strong Flow
2001What's Up Boys
2000King's Road