91 Showlhs N

2024 Clarence House Chase Tips, Odds and Predictions

Ascot stages one of the biggest races on their National Hunt calendar in January, as a stellar cast assembles for the Clarence House Chase.

This two-mile Grade One was first run at Ascot in the late 1980s, and the race has been won by great chasers like Master Minded, Sprinter Sacre, Altior and Un De Sceaux, who've all gone on to enjoy success at the Cheltenham Festival.

Clarence House Chase Odds

When the odds are released, you'll find the latest Clarence House Chase betting on our website...

Clarence House Chase Tips

When the final field has been revealed, we'll publish our tips for the 2021 Clarence House Chase.

2022 Clarence House Chase Result

1stEditeur Du Gite10/1

Clarence House Chase History

The Clarence House Chase was introduced to the schedule at Ascot in 1989. The race is named after Clarence House, a Royal residence located in West Minister.

The Clarence House was originally a handicap race. The great Desert Orchid overcome a top-weight of 12 stone to win the inaugural running of this two-mile chase in 1989.

Viking Flagship carried 10-10 to victory in 1994, before following up in the Champion Chase at the Cheltenham Festival seven weeks later. The following year saw Martha's Son win the Clarence House, and he too went on to win the Champion Chase at Cheltenham two years later.

Robert Thornton guided Call Equiname to victory at Ascot in 1999, before sealing the Clarence House and Champion Chase double that same season.

Well Chief also managed to win the Clarence House under top-weight in 2005. Although he didn't go on to win the Queen Mother, Martin Pipe's chaser claimed further Grade One glory in the Celebration Chase at Sandown.

The Clarence House was promoted to Grade One status in 2008, and was used as a key prep-race for Champion Chase hopefuls. Master Minded won the Clarence House in 2009 and 2011, while also winning the feature race on day two of the Cheltenham Festival in 2008 and '09.

Paul Nicholls is the most successful trainer in Clarence House history, with the last of his five wins coming in 2015, as future Champion Chaser Dodging Bullets triumphed at Ascot.

Sprinter Sacre won his one and only Clarence House in 2013. He was followed into the winner's enclosure by that year's Champion Chaser, Sire De Grugy.

Willie Mullins sent Un De Sceaux over to Ascot to win the Clarence House in 2016. Un De Sceaux would then complete a hat-trick of wins in the two following season, while also winning the Ryanair Chase at Cheltenham and the Punchestown Champion Chase twice after turning 10.

Four-time Cheltenham Festival winner, Altior won the Clarence House in 2019. Defi Du Seuil then beat Un De Sceaux to win the Clarence House at Ascot in 2020.

Clarence House Chase Winners

2023 Editeur Du Gite
2022 Shishkin
2021 First Flow
2020 Defi Du Seuil
2019 Altior
2018 Un De Sceaux
2017 Un De Sceaux
2016 Un De Sceaux
2015 Dodging Bullets
2014 Sire De Grugy
2013 Sprinter Sacre
2012 Somersby
2011 Master Minded
2010 Twist Magic
2009 Master Minded
2008 No Race
2007 No Race
2006 Tysou
2005 Well Chief
2004 Isio
2003 No Race
2002 Turgeonev
2001 Function Dream
2002 Nordance Prince

Master Minded winning the 2011 Clarence House Chase