2024 Betfair Chase Tips

91 Showlhs N

The first major Grade One of the jumps season takes place at Haydock Park in November, as some of the finest staying chasers in the sport lock horns in the Betfair Chase.

This three-mile chase forms part of Chasing's Triple Crown, and horses who perform well at Haydock will often go on to take part in the King George VI Chase at Kempton, before running in the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Betfair Chase Day Card

1Newton Novices' Hurdle (Listed) 2m
2Handicap Chase (Class 2) 3m2f
3Graduation Chase (Class 2) 2m6f
4Betfair Exchange Handicap Hurdle (Class 2) 2m3f
5Betfair Stayer's Handicap Hurdle (Grade 3) 3m
6Betfair Chase (Grade 1) 3m2f
7Stayers' Handicap Chase (Class 3) 3m4f

Betfair Chase Tips

Once the field has been finalised, we'll publish our tips for the Betfair Chase.

2022 Betfair Chase Result

2ndEldorado Allen17/2

Betfair Chase History

Registered as the Lancashire Chase, the Betfair Chase was first run at Haydock Park in 2005. Originally run over a trip of three miles, an extra furlong-and-a-half was added to the Betfair Chase distance in 2018, making it one of the sternest tests of stamina outside of handicap company.

The Betfair Chase is often the starting point for horses who hope to go on to compete in the Gold Cup at the Cheltenham Festival. 

Paul Nicholls' legendary chaser, Kauto Star won the Betfair Chase four times between 2006 and 2011, while also winning the Gold Cup at Cheltenham twice in that space of time.

Colin Tizzard's star Cue Card became a fan's favourite, thanks mainly to his exploits at Haydock. Cue Card won the Betfair Chase on three occasions, while also claiming the King George crown at Kempton and the Ryanair at Cheltenham.

Silviniaco Conti won the Betfair Chase in 2012 and 2014, making Paul Nicholls the most successful trainer in the race, having saddled the winner six times.

Bristol De Mai became the third horse to win back-to-back Betfair Chases in 2017 and 2018. Nigel Twiston-Davies' grey also recorded the most emphatic Grade One victory ever seen in Britain in the 2017 Betfair Chase, beating Cue Card by a margin of 57-lengths on heavy ground.

Bristol De Mai was thwarted in his attempt to become the only horse to win the Betfair Chase three years in a row in 2019, as Colin Tizzard's Lostintranslation outstayed his rival down the long home-straight at Haydock to win by half-a-length.

Nigel Twiston-Davies' grey didn't have to wait long to gain revenge, as Bristol De Mai defeated Clan Des Obeaux and Lostintranslation to win his third Betfair Chase in 2020.

Betfair Chase Winners

2021A Plus Tard
2020Bristol De Mai
2018Bristol De Mai
2017Bristol De Mai
2016Cue Card
2015Cue Card
2014Silviniaco Conti
2013Cue Card
2012Silviniaco Conti
2011Kauto Star
2010Imperial Commander
2009Kauto Star
2008Snoopy Loopy
2007Kauto Star
2006Kauto Star