91 Showlhs N

2022 St Leger Tips, Odds and News

The St Leger is one of the oldest and most prestigious races in the world of flat racing.

This Group One, run over 1m 6f, was first run at Doncaster racecourse way back in 1776, and has been won by many of the greatest middle-distance horses flat racing has ever produced.

The St Leger is the final Classic run in Britain, meaning it's only open to three-year-olds. It's also the last leg of the Triple Crown, which features the 2000 Guineas and the Epsom Derby for colts, and the 1000 Guineas and Epsom Oaks for fillies.

2022 St Leger Odds

New London5/6
Eldar Eldarov7/1
Secret State8/1
Hoo Ya Mal8/1
United Nations12/1

*Odds taken on 25/8/22*

2021 St Leger Tips

Once the field has been finalised, we'll publish our guide to the 2021 St Leger.

2020 St Leger Result

1stHurricane Lane 8/11f
2nd Mojo Star 5/1
3rd The Mediterranean 28/1

St Leger Day Card

1:50pm Portland Handicap (Class 2) 5½f
2:25pm Park Stakes (Group 2) 7f
3:00pm Champagne Stakes (Group 2) 7f
3:35pm William Hill St Leger (Group 1) 1m6½f
4:10pm Nursery Handicap (Class 2) 1m
4:45pm One Mile Handicap (Class 2) 1m
5:55pm Drywall Handicap (Class 2) 1m4f

St Leger History

f the five Classic races staged in Britain, the St Leger is the oldest. First run back in 1776, four years before the Epsom Derby, the St Leger boasts a long and storied history, along with a glittering roll of hnour.

When Anthony St Leger first devised the race, it was run over a two-mile trip at Doncaster and named "A Sweepstake Of 25 Guineas". The following season, the race was renamed the "St Leger" and, in 1813, the length of the contest was reduced to its current distance of 1m 6½f.

The most famous early winner of the St Leger was Champion, who became the first horse to win the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in the same season in 1800. 

In 1853, West Australian became the first horse to complete the fabled Triple Crown, winning the 2000 Guineas, the Epsom Derby and the St Leger in a calendar year.

In 1906, it was decided that geldings would not be allowed to run in the St Leger. During the first World War, the St Leger was staged at Newmarket. The race was held at multiple venues during World War II, including Newmarket, York, Manchester and Thirsk.

Since then, there have only been two years when the St Leger hasn't been run at Doncaster. Michelozzo won this Classic at Ayr in 1989. When Town Moor was closed for redevelopment in 2006, the St Leger was moved to York, where Simple Verse came out on top.

Since West Australian's triumph in 1853, 14 colts have completed the Triple Crown at Doncaster. Other famous Triple Crown winners include Ormonde, Gary Crusader, Gainsborough and Nijinsky, who was the last colt to win the Triple Crown in 1970.

Nine fillies have completed their version of the Triple Crown with victory in the St Leger. The most recent of those being the great Oh So Sharp, who reigned supreme at Doncaster in 1985.

Legendary trainer, John Scott is by far the most successful handler in St Leger history, having saddled the winner 16 times between 1827 and 1862.

John's brother, Bill Scott is the most successful jockey, having ridden the winner of the St Leger nine times, with six of those wins coming aboard one of his brother's horses.

In 1822, 200/1 outsider Theodore claimed a shock victory in the St Leger, and remains the longest-priced winner of a Group One race in British racing history.

Great names like Donovan, Sceptre and Pretty Polly won the St Leger around the turn of the 20th century. 

Frankie Dettori won the first of his six St Leger's aboard Classic Cliche in 1995, and repeated the trick with Shantou 12 months later. 

Milan, Scorpion and Lucarno all won the St Leger in the 21st century, and have gone on to have highly-successful careers as National Hunt sires.

Camelot attempted to complete the Triple Crown at Doncaster in 2012, but Aidan O'Brien's 2/5 favourite was defeated by 25/1 shot Encke, ridden by Mickael Barzalona.

Harbour Law handed small-time trainer Laura Mongan a surprise win in 2016, defeating odds-on favourite Idaho, who unseated his rider three furlongs from home.

Aidan O'Brien saddled his sixth and seventh St Leger winners in 2017 and '18, with Capri and Kew Gardens coming out on top.

In 2019, Frankie Dettori ended his 11-year wait for another St Leger winner, cruising to victory aboard John Gosden's Logician in impressive fashion.

Having ridden the St Leger winner for his father in 2011, Joseph O'Brien celebrated victory as a trainer in 2020, as Galileo Chrome win the 2020 St Leger. Charlie Appleby then landed his first St Leger winner as odds-on favourite, Hurricane Lane claimed an impressive win.

St Leger Winners

2021 Hurricane Lane
2020 Galileo Chrome
2019 Logician
2018 Kew Gardens
2017 Capri
2016 Harbour Law
2015 Simple Verse
2014 Kingston Hill
2013 Leading Light
2012 Encke
2011 Masked Marvel
2010 Arctic Cosmos
2009 Mastery
2008 Conduit
2007 Lucarno
2006 Sixties Icon
2005 Scorpion
2004 Rule Of Law
2003 Brian Boru
2002 Bollin Eric
2001 Milan
2000 Millenary