91 Showlhs N

2022 Vertem Futurity Trophy Tips, Odds and Predictions

The final Group One race staged during the British flat racing season is the Vertem Futurity Trophy. This contest was first run at Doncaster racecourse in 1961. It's run over a trip of one mile (eight furlongs) and open only to two-year-olds.

The Vertem Trophy is one of the most important juvenile races on the calendar, having produced many future Classic winners down the years. In the last decade alone, we've seen Vertem Trophy winners go on to land the 2000 Guineas, Irish 2000 Guineas, Epsom Derby and even the St Leger during their three-year-old campaigns.

Vertem Futurity Trophy Key Facts

DateSaturday 22nd October, 2022
StatusGroup One
Age2YO (Colts and Fillies)
First Prize£118,000

2022 Vertem Futurity Trophy Odds

You will find the latest odds for the Vertem Futurity Trophy in the news section at the top of this page.

2022 Vertem Futurity Trophy Tips

When our preview goes live, you can read our full guide to the Vertem Futurity Trophy on this page.

2021 Vertem Futurity Trophy Result

3rdBayside Boy9/1

Vertem Futurity Trophy History

The Vertem Futurity Trophy was created in 1961 by Phil Bull, creator of Timeform. Originally known as the Timeform Gold Cup, this Group One has had several sponsors down the years, most recently Vertem Futurity, who renamed the race the Vertem Futurity Trophy in 2018.

Legendary jockey's Lestor Piggot and Pat Eddery both rode six winners of this race apiece during their careers. 

Piggot's first win came in 1966 aboard Ribocco, who would go on to win the Irish Derby and the St Leger the following season. Eddery's most high-profile Vertem Futurity Trophy winner was 1986 winner Reference Point, who followed up in the Epsom Derby, the King George VI and Queen Elizabeth Stakes and the St Leger in 1987.

Sir Henry Cecil racked up a total of 10 winners in this Group One during his stellar training career. Approval was Cecil's first winner in 1969. Future King George winner, King's Theatre handed Cecil his tenth and final winner in 1993. 

In recent years, Aidan O'Brien has pulled level with Sir Henry Cecil at the top of the trainer standings. Amongst O'Brien's ten Vertem Trophy winners are Epsom and Irish Derby winner High Chaparral, St Leger winner Brian Boru, three-time Coronation Cup winner Sir Nicholas Abbey, and 2011 winner Camelot, who was narrowly denied the Triple Crown by Enke in the following season's St Leger here at Doncaster.

Motivator and Authorized won the Vertem Futurity Trophy in 2004 and 2006 respectively. Both would go on to win the Epsom Derby and become leading sires after they retired to stud.

Between 2017 and 2019, all three winners of the Vertem Futurity Trophy would go on to win the 2000 Guineas the following year. The 2019 winner was Kameko, who won the rescheduled Vertem Trophy at Newcastle - the first Group One in Britain ever to be run on an artificial surface.

Vertem Futurity Trophy Winners

2021 Luxembourg
2020 Mac Swiney
2019 Kameko
2018 Magna Grecia
2017 Saxon Warrior
2016 Rivet
2015 Marcel
2014 Elm Park
2013 Kingston Hill
2012 Kingsbarns
2011 Camelot
2010 Casamento
2009 St Nicholas Abbey
2008 Crowded House
2007 Ibn Khaldun
2006 Authorized
2005 Palace Episode
2004 Motivator
2003 American Post
2002 Brian Boru
2001 High Chaparral