2024 Tingle Creek Chase Tips

91 Showlhs N
The Tingle Creek Chase is one of the most important races on the National Hunt calendar, attracting Champion Chase contenders from across Britain and Ireland to Sandown Park in Early December.

This Grade One takes place at Sandown every year, and is run over a trip of two miles.

Tingle Creek Chase Odds

No odds are currently available for the Tingle Creek.

Tingle Creek Chase Tips

When the field has been finalised, our guide to the Tingle Creek Chase will be published.

Tingle Creek Chase Day Card

12:05pm Introductory Juvenile Hurdle (Class 2) 2m
12:40pm Novices' Hurdle (Class 3) 2m
1:15pm Novices' Handicap Hurdle (Class 4) 2m
1:50pm Henry VIII Novices' Chase (Grade 1) 2m
2:25pm Betfair Tingle Creek Chase (Grade 1) 2m
3:00pm London National Handicap Chase (Class 2) 3m5f
3:35pm December Handicap Hurdle (Listed) 2m

Tingle Creek Chase History

The Tingle Creek Chase was first staged at Sandown in 1979. The race is named after Tingle Creek, who enjoyed plenty of success on the track during the 1970s, especially around Sandown Park.

Up until the early 90s', the Tingle Creek was a handicap chase. Desert Orchid scored in the 1988 running of the Tingle Creek, before successfully stepping up in trip to land the King George VI Chase at Kempton later that month.

Reigning Champion Chaser, Viking Flagship won the first renewal of the Tingle Creek after it was upped to Grade One status in 1994. Since then, the race has been used as a starting point for many horses hoping to win the Queen Mother at the Cheltenham Festival

Flagship Uberalles is the most successful horse in this history of the race, claiming a hat-trick of victories at the turn of the Millennium. Moscow Flyer claimed back-to-back wins in the Tingle Creek in 2003 and '04, before ending both seasons with big victories at Cheltenham and Punchestown.

Kauto Star is better known for his incredible accomplishments over three miles but, before he won the King George or the Cheltenham Gold Cup, Paul Nicholls' charge won this two-miler at Sandown in '05 and '06.

Nicholls celebrated six Tingle Creek victories in a row, as Twist Magic and Master Minded traded a pair of wins apiece. Sizing Europe then ended Nicholls' run in 2011, before the great Sprinter Sacre won his only Tingle Creek in 2012.

Sire De Grugy won at Sandown twice for the Moore family in 2013 and '15, with Champion Chase Dodging Bullets winning inbetween. Willie Mullins then claimed his only victory in the Tingle Creek, as Un De Sceaux triumphed in 2016.

Politologue was followed into the winners' enclosure by Altior, who cruised to victory in the 2018 Tingle Creek. Defi Deu Seuil then got the better of Un De Sceaux in a thrilling battle for the Tingle Creek in 2019.

Paul Nicholls' Politologue regained his Tingle Creek crown with an excellent front-running performance in 2020. Having finished behind his stablemate the previous season, Greaneteen went one better in the 2021 Tingle Creek, handing Paul Nicholls his 11th victory in this famous race.

Tingle Creek Winners

2022 Edwardstone
2021 Greaneteen
2020 Politologue
2019 Defi Du Seuil
2018 Altior
2017 Politologue
2016 Un De Sceaux
2015 Sire De Grugy
2014 Didging Bullets
2013 Sire De Grugy
2012 Sprinter Sacre
2011 Sizing Europe
2010 Master Minded
2009 Twist Magic
2008 Master Minded
2007 Twist Magic
2006 Kauto Star
2005 Kauto Star
2004 Moscow Flyer
2003 Moscow Flyer
2002 Cenkos
2001 Flagship Uberalles