91 Showlhs N

2024 Scottish Grand National Tips, Odds and Predictions

The highlight of the season in Scotland takes place during April, as a field of top-quality handicappers take part in the Scottish Grand National.

The Scottish National takes place just a week after the Grand National at Aintree, but you do occasionally get horses who take part in both races. The Scottish Grand National is run at Ayr racecourse, and the trip is four miles.

Scottish Grand National Key Facts

DateSaturday 22nd April, 2022
TrackAyr Racecourse
ClassGrade 3
StatusHandicap Chase
First Prize£215k

Scottish Grand National Odds

Odds for the Scottish Grand National will be published on this page when they are released.

Scottish Grand National Tips

Our guide to the Scottish National will be published when the field has been confirmed and the weights have been announced.

Scottish Grand National Day Card

1:25pm Listed Handicap Chase
1:55pm Novices' Handicap Chase
2:25pm Scottish Champion Hurdle (Grade 2)
3:00pm  Future Champion Novices' Chase (Grade 2)
3:35pm Scottish Grand National (Grade 3)
4:10pm Handicap Hurdle
4:45pm Amateur and Conditionals Handicap Hurdle
5:20pm NH Flat Race

Scottish Grand National History

The Scottish Grand National was created in 1867, almost 30 years after the British version was first run at Aintree. The race has been held at a number of locations during its history, but has stayed at Ayr racecourse since first being staged there in 1966.

The Elk won the first Scottish Grand National in 1867. There was an unusual occurrence in 1891, where only two horses started the race and both fell at the second fence, meaning there was no winner.

Couvrefeu II became the first horse to land a hat-trick of wins in this staying handicap, claiming successive victories in 1911, '12 and '13. 

That brilliant achievement was almost matched by Queen's Taste, who won back to back Scottish Nationals in 1953 and '54, was beaten in 55, before winning the trophy back in '56. Southern Hero is the other three-time winner, having triumphed in 1934, '36 and '39.

The most famous winner of the Scottish Grand National is the great Red Rum. Ginger McCain's star score at Ayr, just days after winning the second of his three Aintree Grand Nationals in 1974.

Little Polveir won the Scottish Grand National under Peter Scudamore in 1987, before following up at Aintree two years later. Earth Summit is the only other horse to win both the Scottish and British Grand Nationals, claiming victory at Ayr in 1994, and Aintree in 1998.

The oldest horse in recent times to win at Ayr was Wilsford, who scored as a 12-year-old in 1995. The youngest was Earth Summit, who was only six when he won this staying handicap.

Barona won back-to-back Scottish Grand Nationals in the mid-1970s. Androma carried bottom-weight to victory i1984, before following up 12 months later.

Ken Oliver and Neville Crump are the joint winning-most trainers in the Scottish Grand National saddling four winners apiece. Paul Nicholls sits just one behind, having won with Belmont King and twice with Vicente, who secured back-to-back wins in 2016 and '17. 

Rebecca Curtis celebrate her first Scottish National win when Joe Farrell struck late in 2018. Nicky Richards was celebrating the following season, as Sean Quinlan guided Takingrisks to victory.

Scottish Grand National Winners

2022 Win My Wings
2021 Mighty Thunder
2020 No Race
2019 Takingrisks
2018 Joe Farrell
2017 Vicente
2016 Vicente
2015 Wayward Prince
2014 Al Co
2013 Godsmejudge
2012 Merigo
2011 Beshabar
2010 Merigo
2009 Hello Bud
2008 Iris de Balme
2007 Hot Weld
2006 Run For Paddy
2005 Joes Edge
2004 Grey Abbey
2003 Ryalux
2002 Take Control
2001 Gingembre